Jenufa

[Její Pastorkyna]

Leos Janacek (1854 – 1928)

Opera in three acts
Libretto by Leos Janacek after a drama by Gabriela Preissová
First staged on 21. January, 1904 in Brno
Premiere at the Deutsche Oper Berlin on 4. March, 2012

In Czech language with German surtitles

open

Information

close

Information

Strictures and bigotry, tradition and control… rural life in a Moravian village smouldering under a burning glass. We follow the fortunes of the characters through the changing of the seasons, are witness to a sweltering summer followed by a brutal winter. In early spring we are presented with a happy occasion that is soon soured. The tragic wedding ends in a confession of guilt and reveals Leos Janácek as a humanist. Violence and scandal, infanticide, guilt and atonement: these are the aspects of the human condition that the composer Janácek - he of the volatile temperament, who had fallen out of favour in the eyes his compatriots for belittling the achievements of Smetana - is keen to lay bare to his audiences.

With JENUFA he is risking musical and stylistic isolation. Which composer has ever clung so tenaciously to arias and repetitive movements, as if Wagner had never existed? Who was able to marry them so naturally with the emerging veristic forms? Unusual, too, was Janácek’s basing of his opera on a work of prose – Gabriela Preissová’s Její pastorkyna [Her protégée] – always with the intention of uncovering the core characteristics of his figures, of depicting their personalities, their individual ways of speaking, in exaggerated detail. For Janácek, to capture the lilt and timbres of his Moravian homeland was to make a »life drawing in musical form«.

The deserved plaudits for JENUFA were a long time coming. After the premiere in Brünn in 1904 the opera went through period of revision and was performed only rarely, in Prague as late as 1916. Max Brod saw a performance in the National Theatre and afterwards penned a fiery appeal for »the prosperity of Czech opera«, published in the Berlin Weltbühne. Shortly afterwards Brod was woken on a Sunday morning by Leos Janácek, who persuaded him to translate JENUFA into German. The exhortation was doubtless a last ditch attempt to rustle up some interest among a wider public for his audacious work, with the help of his famous ally and advocate. The plan worked. After performances in Vienna and Cologne in 1918 the opera premiered in Berlin in 1924. From Berlin; JENUFA went on to the opera houses of the world.

open

Accompanying Programme

close

Accompanying Programme

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts

Jenufa

[Její Pastorkyna]

Leos Janacek (1854 – 1928)

Oper in drei Akten
Libretto von Leos Janacek nach dem Drama von Gabriela Preissová
Uraufführung am 21. Januar 1904 in Brünn
Premiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 4. März 2012

In tschechischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln

öffnen

Besetzung

schließen

Besetzung

Musikalische Leitung Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung Christof Loy
Bühne Dirk Becker
Kostüme Judith Weihrauch
Licht Bernd Purkrabek
Choreographische Mitarbeit Thomas Wilhelm
Chöre William Spaulding
Die alte Buryja Hanna Schwarz
Laca Klemen Will Hartmann
Steva Buryja Ladislav Elgr
Die Küsterin Buryja Jennifer Larmore
Jenufa Michaela Kaune
Altgesell Simon Pauly
Bürgermeister Stephen Bronk
Frau des Bürgermeisters Nadine Secunde
Karolka Martina Welschenbach
Schäferin Fionnuala McCarthy
Barena Jana Kurucová
Jano Alexandra Hutton
Chöre Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin
Orchester Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
öffnen

Informationen

schließen

Informationen

Enge und Bigotterie, Tradition und Kontrolle, das bäuerliche Leben auf dem mährischen Dorf unterm Brennglas: Wir folgen den Figuren durch die Jahreszeiten, erleben einen hitzigen, brutalen Sommer, auf den ein eisiger, grausamer Winter folgt. Im beginnenden Frühling werden wir Zeugen eines Fests, das keines ist. Die tragische Hochzeit mündet in ein großes Schuldeingeständnis und offenbart den Humanisten Leos Janácek. Gewalt und Schande, Kindsmord, Schuld und Sühne. All das will uns der Komponist vor Augen und Ohren führen, der unbeherrscht Aufbrausende, der bei seinen Landsleuten in Ungnade gefallen war, nachdem er sich abfällig über Smetana geäußert hatte.

Mit JENUFA läuft er nun Gefahr, sich auch musikalisch und stilistisch zu isolieren. Welcher Komponist blieb – als hätte es Wagner nie gegeben – noch so in Arien und Phrasenwiederholungen verhaftet? Wer verband diese so selbstverständlich mit den neu aufkommenden veristischen Formen? Ungewöhnlich war auch, dass Janácek das Werk auf einen Prosatext – Gabriela Preissovás Její pastorkyna [Ihre Ziehtochter] – komponierte, immer in dem Bestreben, zum Kern seiner Figuren vorzudringen, ihren Charakter peinlich genau abzubilden, ihren individuellen Sprachrhythmus. Die Sprachmelodien seiner mährischen Heimat zu skizzieren war für ihn »Aktzeichnen der Musik«.

JENUFA hatte viele Umwege zu gehen, bis der verdiente Erfolg sich einstellte. Nach der Uraufführung 1904 in Brünn wurde die Oper vielfach abgeändert und nur wenige Male aufgeführt, in Prag erst 1916. Max Brod sah eine Aufführung im Nationaltheater und schrieb im Anschluss in der Berliner Weltbühne ein flammendes Plädoyer für das »tschechische Opernglück«. Als Leos Janácek eines darauffolgenden Sonntags den Schriftsteller aus dem Bett klingelte und ihn überredete, JENUFA ins Deutsche zu übersetzen, muss dies seine letzte Hoffnung gewesen sein, mit Hilfe seines bekannten Fürsprechers ein breiteres Publikum für das kühne Werk zu interessieren. Der Plan ging auf: Nach Aufführungen in Wien und Köln 1918 folgte 1924 die Berliner Erstaufführung. Von hier aus ging das Stück um die Welt.

öffnen

Rahmenprogramm

schließen

Rahmenprogramm

Einführung: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Rang-Foyer rechts