The BigBand in Concert

„Unforgettable“ – The music of Nat King Cole





Soloist / vocals LYAMBIKO
Soloist / vocals Karl Frierson
Conductor Manfred Honetschläger
Moderation Sebastian Krol
Trumpets Konrad Schreiter
Trumpets Martin Wagemann
Trumpets Gerhard Greif
Trumpets Lars Ranch
Trumpets Achim Rothe
Trombone Guntram Halder
Trombone Simon Harrer
Trombone Sebastian Krol
Trombone Thomas Richter
Saxophones Oliver Link
Saxophones Dieter Velte
Saxophones Peter Ludewig
Saxophones Oliver Busch
Saxophones Patrick Braun
Guitar Kai Brückner
Piano Matthias Hessel
Double bass Christoph Niemann
Percussion Andreas Birnbaum
Drums Rüdiger Ruppert




Savour the grooves and breathtaking solo performances of musicians grouped around jazz great Rolf von Nordenskjöld. The big band, uniting members of the Opera orchestra and musicians of Berlin's jazz scene, focuses largely on the music of Ray Charles.

* * * Programme * * *
„Unforgettable Intro“ (Irving Gordon, arr. Manfred Honetschläger)

„Day In Day Out“ (Rube Bloom)
„When I Fall in Love“ (Victor Young)
„Walking My Baby Back Home“ (arr. Manfred Honetschläger)

„Our Love is Here to Stay“ (George Gershwin)
„Better than Anything“ (arr. Manfred Honetschläger)
„It‘ s Only a Papermoon“ (Harold Arlen)

„L.O.V.E“ (Chris Walden, Bert Kaempfert)

„It’s All Right with Me“ (Cole Porter)

„The Heat’s On“ (Sammy Nestico)

„My Baby Just Cares for Me“ (Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn)
„Almost Like Being in Love“ (Frederic Loewe)

„Straighten Up and Fly Right“ (Nat King Cole, Irving Mill)
„Let There Be Love“ (Bruce Forsyth)

„Smile“ (Charles Chaplin)
„Come Rain Or Come Shine“ (Harold Arlen)

„Perfidia“ (Alberto Dominguez)
„Madrid“ (arr. Achim Rothe)

„Unforgettable“ (Irving Gordon)