Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

5 Questions to

Ante Jerkunica

In Modest Mussorgsky’s BORIS GODUNOW Ante Jerkunica, bass, sings the part of Pimen, the monk, who observes and comments on the power and powerlessness of Godunov, the tsar. Here Jerkunica provides his thoughts on power.

Boris Godunov
Conductor: Kirill Karabits
Director: Richard Jones
With Sir Bryn Terfel, Burkhard Ulrich, Dong-Hwan Lee, Ante Jerkunica, Robert Watson, Matthew Newlin et al.
31 Jan.; 3 Feb; 6, 9 Mar.

Is there such a thing as good power?
There are two sides to power, if you ask me: negative and positive. Good power reveals itself in knowledge, courage, character, wisdom. These qualities should be deployed in improving one’s own life and other people’s.

Does power have a shelf life?
Unfortunately not. That sounds pessimistic, but the signs are all there. We are witnesses to the abuse of power on a daily basis. It distorts the political process. Politicians should serve people, yet it’s us who serve the interests of politicians. To my mind, being a politician is a noble profession, and abuse of power has ruined this noblesse.

In terms of power, can you think of a positive role model?
I admire all those people who use their power to do good works. People trying to protect the environment, for instance, which we’ve all but destroyed. These people are taking responsibility – not just for themselves but for future generations. Trouble is, activists are usually not powerful enough. And it doesn’t look like that’s going to change overnight.

Do we learn from history?
No. We see that day-in, day-out. History is continually being repeated. We seem to be hard-wired to self-destruct. At the same time, everything we’re experiencing today is also played out in literature! Take BORIS GODUNOV, a story of power and abuse of power set around 1600. Is there a huge difference between that and what’s going on today in Russia or the USA? I don’t think so. The details change, but the essence is the same.

What is a powerful voice?
It’s certainly not a matter of decibels! A voice is powerful if it touches the listener, if audiences leave the opera house having been deeply moved.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Fünf Fragen an

Ante Jekunica

In Modest Mussorgskys BORIS GODUNOW singt der Bass Ante Jerkunica den Mönch Pimen. Der kommentiert und beobachtet die Macht und Ohnmacht des Zaren Godunow. Hier erzählt Jerkunica von seiner Sicht auf Macht

Boris Godunow
Dirigent: Kirill Karabits
Inszenierung: Richard Jones
Mit Sir Bryn Terfel, Burkhard Ulrich, Dong-Hwan Lee, Ante Jerkunica, Robert Watson, Matthew Newlin u. a.
31. Jan.; 3. Feb; 6., 9. März

Gibt es gute Macht?
Ich denke, Macht hat zwei Seiten, eine negative und eine positive. Die gute Seite zeigt sich in Wissen, Mut, Charakter, einem starken Urteilsvermögen. Am besten nutzt man dies alles, um sein Leben zu verbessern – und das Leben anderer Menschen.

Gibt es ein Verfallsdatum für Macht?
Leider nicht. Das klingt pessimistisch, aber unsere Zeit zeigt das deutlich. Wir sind täglich Zeugen von Machtmissbrauch, Politik ist dadurch total verzerrt. Politik sollte Menschen dienen. Stattdessen dienen wir Politikern. Für mich ist Politiker ein edler Beruf – und der Missbrauch von Macht hat dieses Edle zerstört.

Ihr positives Machtvorbild?
Ich bewundere all jene, die ihre Macht nutzen, um Gutes zu bewirken, die sich etwa für die Natur einsetzen, die wir nahezu zerstört haben. Das sind Menschen, die Verantwortung übernehmen – auch für die Generationen, die uns nachfolgen. Doch leider sind jene, die sich wirklich engagieren, meist nicht mächtig genug. Bis sich das ändert, braucht die Menschheit offenbar noch etwas Zeit.

Lernt der Mensch aus der Geschichte?
Nein. Das sehen wir jeden Tag. Die Geschichte wiederholt sich immer wieder. Selbstzerstörung scheint ein Teil unserer Natur zu sein. Gleichzeitig finden wir alles, was wir heute erleben, auch in der Literatur! Nehmen wir BORIS GODUNOW, eine Geschichte von Macht und Machtmissbrauch, die um 1600 spielt. Gibt es einen großen Unterschied zur heutigen Situation in Russland oder in den USA? Ich finde nicht. Vielleicht verändern sich die äußeren Formen, aber der Kern bleibt.

Was ist eine machtvolle Stimme?
An Dezibel ist sie definitiv nicht zu erkennen! Eine Stimme hat Macht, wenn sie berührt. Wenn Zuschauer mit bewegten Herzen die Oper verlassen.