Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

Celebrate with us:

Serving the arts

 

In the auditorium works of music take centre stage; in the foyer people predominate. Laura Fogarasi-Ludloff adores the Deutsche Oper Berlin – both as architect and opera lover
 

I’m absolutely blown away by the Deutsche Oper Berlin as a building. That may be down to the fact that I have strong ties to opera houses. My father was an opera singer, which means I grew up with the music and the places where the operas were performed. I think of the Deutsche Oper Berlin as one of the special venues, because it’s a model of democracy in the way it was designed and it’s a very open and welcoming place. If you approach it from a westerly direction, the glass frontage draws the eye straight into the heart of the building. People are in full view, walking about inside; they’re not in a sealed-off space, shielded from the gaze of passers-by. Conversely, visitors just have to glance through the panes to remind themselves that the opera house foyer is just as much the foyer of Berlin itself.

 

The all-important space within an opera house is unquestionably the auditorium – and it is testimony to how Bornemann broke new and radical ground. His building is consistently egalitarian in the way it ensures that all spectators form their opinions on a work based on a largely identical experience of the material. Stage and auditorium are subordinated to the onstage action and the music. The visuals and acoustics are almost equally good regardless of where one is sitting – a revolutionary decision for an architect and a supreme technical achievement. It was no small feat to attain a pitch of auditory precision while not compromising on the spatial dimension. Complex models were built to simulate the interior space.

 

That architects should prioritise art over their own visions was by no means a given back then. It may sound strange today, but the design of theatres did not use to be driven by the idea that the stage was where the important action happened. The overriding preoccupation used to be that audience members could see each other and be seen – a communicative function that Bornemann transposed to the foyer. The concourse is where the spectators mingle, regardless of the class of ticket bought – and they mingle not as passers-by or passive consumers but as active agents in their own right. The various foyer levels facilitate eye contact; groups can locate each other without problem. People can stand around, sit down or lean against uprights, none of which should be taken for granted! Whenever I step into the building and browse the art exhibits, I get a sense of this freedom! Art exhibitions are nothing new, of course, but I find the works by Arp and Armitage particularly good.

Laura Fogarasi-Ludloff sits on the board of the Bund Deutscher Architekten Berlin. A co-founder of Ludloff Ludloff Architects, she has won international awards for her designs © WH
 
 

I don’t agree with people who say that the architect wanted to negate representative features and opulence in general. The façade of exposed-aggregate concrete, often disparaged as too sober, was emphatically not a common feature of buildings; it was the product of an architectural decision that exalted the humble material. Bornemann selected large-grade white pebbles, and the sheer scale of the façade counteracts the supposedly banal aggregate composite. The entire design exudes conscious decisions and unbending will on the part of the architect. It’s also interesting to see how attitudes towards the façade have evolved over time. In 1961 exposed-aggregate concrete was in wide circulation as a building material, even if its use for the façade of an opera house sparked controversy. Later it fell out of favour, only to undergo a revival over the last decade. Young people especially are coming full circle to see the brutalist style as »hip«, so you might even say the Deutsche Oper Berlin has been lucky: 60 years on people are raving about its design as never before. If you ask me, a lot of people look at these ever-rarer structures and see them as emblems of radicality and determination. It’s an acknowledgement that their architects were not simply rebuilding cities and producing functional edifices but also probing ceaselessly for their own renaissance style.

 

An architecture of that kind accepts responsibility for the surrounding cityscape. Take Bornemann’s three major works in Berlin: the Deutsche Oper, the Freie Volksbühne and the Amerika-Gedenkbibliothek. Each of these buildings has its own discrete design, responding as it does to the immediate environs, communicating with them, even anticipating them. It’s one of the factors that make this style of architecture timeless – a wondrous thing after so many years. — Text: Tilman Mühlenberg

Overview of work and dates

War Requiem / Musikfest Berlin in the Philharmony

Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Caretaker's Lounge – An Exhibition by Ina Weber

Vernissage / As part of 60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin

Grand Opera between the Quest for Happiness and the Twilight of the Gods

An installation by and with Alexander Kluge / As part of Festival der Kooperationen

Fritz Bornemann as an architect of bourgeois cultural life

Lecture / As part of 60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin

Between functional building and built art

Discussion / As part of 60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin

The sound of 1961

A chamber concert / As part of 60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin

Who sits where in the opera? Theatre construction and social representation in the post-war period

Lecture / As part of 60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin

Future Opera - What Spaces Does Music Theatre Need?

Lecture and Discussion / As part of 60 Years of Deutsche Oper Berlin
Celebrate with us:

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Feiern Sie mit uns:

Im Dienste der Kunst

 

Im Saal spielt die Musik die Hauptrolle, im Foyer die Menschen. Laura Fogarasi-Ludloff liebt die Deutsche Oper Berlin. Als Architektin und als Opernfan
 

Ich bin absolut begeistert vom Gebäude der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Vielleicht liegt das auch daran, dass ich eine besondere Beziehung zu Opernhäusern habe: Mein Vater war Opernsänger und so bin ich von klein auf mit der Musik und den Orten, an denen sie aufgeführt wird, großgeworden. Unter diesen Orten nimmt die Deutsche Oper Berlin eine besondere Stellung ein. Sie ist ein Musterbeispiel für gebaute Demokratie, ein offenes Haus, das die Besucher einlädt. Wenn man sich dem Gebäude von Westen nähert, ermöglicht die Fensterfront einen direkten Blick von außen ins Innere. Man kann als Passant die Besucher sehen, hier wird nichts abgeschirmt, kein hermetischer Raum erzeugt. Gleichzeitig verortet man sich als Besucher durch einen Blick nach draußen in der Stadt, durch die Entgrenzung des Raums, wie in einem Foyer der Stadt.

 

Der wichtigste Ort in einer Oper ist der Saal, ohne Zweifel. Hier hat Bornemann einen radikal neuen Weg eingeschlagen. Das Gebäude folgt konsequent der Idee der gleichberechtigten Opernrezeption: Bühne und Zuschauerraum ordnen sich dem Spiel und der musikalischen Aufführung unter. Die Sicht und das Klangerlebnis sind von allen Plätzen nahezu gleich gut – eine revolutionäre Entscheidung und eine technische Meisterleistung. Insbesondere die Akustik auf diese Art zu optimieren, ist alles andere als einfach. Man baute aufwendige Modelle, um die Klangsituation zu simulieren.

 

Architekten stellten sich übrigens nicht immer so in den Dienst der Kunst. Heutzutage mag es sonderlich klingen, aber historische Theater waren nicht darauf ausgerichtet, dass auf der Bühne das Wichtigste passierte. Vielmehr sollten sich die Zuschauer im Saal in erster Linie gegenseitig sehen können. Diese kommunikative Funktion hat Bornemann ins Foyer verlagert. Hier kommen alle Zuschauer zusammen, egal welche Tickets sie erworben haben – und zwar nicht als Passanten oder passive Konsumenten, sondern als selbstbewusste Akteure. Die verschiedenen Niveaus ermöglichen Blickbeziehungen, man kann in unterschiedlichen Gruppengrößen zueinander finden. Man kann stehen, sitzen, lehnen. Das ist nicht selbstverständlich! Ich spüre diese Freiheit jedes Mal selbst, wenn ich das Haus betrete und die Kunstwerke betrachte. Kunst am Bau gibt es natürlich häufig, hier aber empfinde ich die Arbeiten von Arp und Armitage als besonders gelungen.

Laura Fogarasi-Ludloff ist Vorstandsmitglied des Bundes Deutscher Architekten Berlin. Als Mitgründerin des Architekturbüros Ludloff Ludloff hat sie international ausgezeichnete Gebäude realisiert. © WH
 
 

Ich würde übrigens widersprechen, wenn man dem Gebäude seinen Willen zur Repräsentation und Feierlichkeit gänzlich abspricht. Bei der immer wieder als zu nüchtern kritisierten Waschbetonfassade handelt es sich eben nicht um ein Alltagselement. Wir haben es mit einer architektonischen Entscheidung zu tun, die dieses Material zelebriert. Bornemann hat ausgesucht große Weißkiesel gewählt, der Maßstabssprung verfremdet das vermeintlich banale Material, der gesamte Entwurf besticht durch bewussten Gestaltungswillen. Es ist interessant zu beobachten, wie sich die Rezeption dieser Fassade über die Jahre entwickelt hat. Zum Zeitpunkt der Eröffnung war Waschbeton, wenn auch als Fassade einer Oper umstritten, ein zeitgemäßer Baustoff. Später ist er dann völlig aus der Zeit gefallen, nur um seit etwa zehn Jahren eine Renaissance zu erleben. Gerade unter jüngeren Leuten ist der Brutalismus ja wieder extrem »hip«. Man könnte also sagen, dass die Deutsche Oper Berlin Glück gehabt hat. Nach 60 Jahren ist ihre Gestaltung vielleicht so angesagt wie nie zuvor. Ich glaube, viele Menschen entdecken in diesen zunehmend rarer werdenden Gebäuden eine gestalterische Radikalität und einen Formwillen. Sie erkennen, dass dies nicht nur eine Architektur des Wiederaufbaus oder der reinen Zweckerfüllung war, sondern die konsequente Suche nach einem Neubeginn.

 

Eine solche Architektur übernimmt Verantwortung für den Stadtraum, der sie umgibt. Schauen Sie sich nur die drei wichtigen Bornemann-Bauten in Berlin an, die Deutsche Oper, die Freie Volksbühne und die Amerika-Gedenkbibliothek. Jedes dieser Gebäude ist völlig anders, weil es auf die vorhandene Umgebung reagiert, mit ihr kommuniziert, sie teilweise sogar antizipiert. Das macht diese Architektur zeitlos – und das ist auch nach so vielen Jahren noch bewundernswert. — Text: Tilman Mühlenberg

 

Unsere Publikation zu 60 Jahre Deutsche Oper Berlin finden Sie hier als PDF-Download
 

Werk- und Terminübersicht

War Requiem / Musikfest Berlin in der Philharmonie

Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Caretaker’s Lounge – Ausstellung von Ina Weber

Vernissage / Im Rahmen von 60 Jahre Deutsche Oper Berlin

Die große Oper zwischen Glückssuche und „Götterdämmerung“

Eine Installation von und mit Alexander Kluge / Im Rahmen von Festival der Kooperationen

Fritz Bornemann als Architekt des bürgerlichen Kulturlebens

Vortrag / Im Rahmen von 60 Jahre Deutsche Oper Berlin

Zwischen Zweckbau und gebauter Kunst

Diskussion / Im Rahmen von 60 Jahre Deutsche Oper Berlin

Der Klang von 1961

Ein Kammerkonzert / Im Rahmen von 60 Jahre Deutsche Oper Berlin

Wer sitzt wo in der Oper? Theaterbau und Repräsentation in der Nachkriegszeit

Vortrag / Im Rahmen von 60 Jahre Deutsche Oper Berlin

Zukunftsoper – Welche Räume braucht das Musiktheater?

Vortrag und Diskussion / Im Rahmen von 60 Jahre Deutsche Oper Berlin
Feiern Sie mit uns:

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld