An Essay by Lars Gebhardt

The night before the morning after

The world premiere of Rossini’s THE BARBER OF SEVILLE is the stuff of legend. Dramatic advisor Lars Gebhardt describes the birth pangs of an international triumph.

At the tender age of 20 Gioacchino Rossini is already a busy composer, in 1812 writing no less than six operas, which were staged in Venice, Milan and Naples as well as Rome. Rossini’s work rate is remarkable: no sooner has his TORVALDO E DORLISKA received its premiere at the Teatro Valle in Rome than he is accepting a commission from a rival opera house: Francesco Sforza Cesarini, impresario of the Teatro Argentina, is casting about desperately for another comic opera to shore up his programme. Rossini signs the contract on 26th December, the parties settling on the operatic version of a story that has already aired successfully in theatres – Beaumarchais’s comedy “Le barbier de Séville”. It is not until 29th January that Rossini is handed the definitive libretto and he throws himself into composing the work in short order, drawing on numbers from his earlier operas –standard practice at the time. In three short weeks the company is ready for the premiere.

Change is in the air and everywhere to be seen. Rossini’s frantic work rate, the machine-like proficiency of his orchestral accompaniment and the exaggeratedly ornamental singing roles reflect a world in a state of flux. All of Europe is feeling the strain of a new order, with borders, outlooks and technologies all evolving at helter-skelter pace. No sooner have the new ideals of liberté, égalité and fraternité made the leap from France to the rest of the continent than the royal houses of Europe are trying to turn back the clock. France restores the Bourbon dynasty and the delegates to the Congress of Vienna adjust the internal boundaries of the old Europe. Since Rossini’s birth in 1792 in the northern Italian town of Pesaro Italy has been changing political horses almost annually. It is a period of uncertainty and insecurity. With people migrating to the cities the role of the aristocracy is dwindling. Society’s new burghers are now determining the shape that cities and businesses will take.

Public life is thriving and with it the competition. The owners of private theatres and opera houses are under pressure to present their audiences with ever newer sensations, and the innovations of the young Rossini are a perfect fit. He is the re-mixer par excellence of old material. He is the great renewer – from within – of an opera buffa that has reached an innovative cul-de-sac. Although Rossini can often be found drawing on familiar material, he also goes to extremes, delivering a finished product laced with musical absurdities and virtuoso singing roles. In February 1816 Cesarini is hoping for one such triumph at his Teatro Argentina, but the premiere is an absolute disaster. Unhappy at the way Rossini had written new pieces for the two rival houses in very quick succession, the impresario of the Teatro Valle hires anti-claqueurs to disrupt the premiere by booing and hissing during the songs and drowning out the music. They are aided by the lameness of the performance itself: making his first entrance, the actor playing Don Basilio trips over a floor flap, leaving him with a torn and bloody nose for the rest of the evening. According to an eye-witness: “The good audience gleefully beheld the bloodshed, no less happily than its ancestors had on the terraces of the Coliseum. The public laughed, clapped, called out for repeat performances. In short, it was a fiasco.” In the midst of all this a cat sprang onto the stage, jumping from singer to singer, accompanied by loud miaowing from the audience. The work was reduced to a concert of caterwauling, whistling and booing. The young maestro was not present at the follow-up performance, such was his mortification at the tumult.

And now the audience hears, sees and is amazed at the brilliance of the brand-new composition. Six months later, in Bologna, the opera receives its second airing and the triumphant international career of THE BARBER OF SEVILLE is launched.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Ein Essay von Lars Gebhardt

Der große Katzenjammer

Um die Uraufführung von Rossinis DER BARBIER VON SEVILLA ranken sich zahlreiche Legenden. Dramaturg Lars Gebhardt erzählt von den Geburtswehen eines Welterfolgs

Schon mit 20 Jahren ist Gioacchino Rossini ein vielbeschäftigter Komponist; allein im Jahr 1812 schreibt er sechs Opern, die in Venedig, Ferrara, Mailand, Neapel und natürlich Rom aufgeführt wurden. Rossini war ein Viel- und Schnellschreiber – soeben wurde im Dezember 1815 seine Oper TORVALDO E DORLISKA am Teatro Valle in Rom uraufgeführt, da nimmt er am Konkurrenzhaus einen Auftrag an. Francesco Sforza Cesarini, Impressario des Teatro Argentina, sucht händeringend nach einer weiteren komischen Oper für seinen löchrigen Spielplan. Am 26. Dezember unterzeichnet Rossini den Vertrag – man einigt sich auf einen bereits erprobten Theaterstoff: eine Oper nach Beaumarchais’ Erfolgskomödie „Le barbier de Séville“. Erst am 29. Januar erhält Rossini das finale Libretto, im Höchsttempo komponiert er das Stück und greift dabei – wie damals üblich – auf schon bewährte Nummern aus seinen früheren Opern zurück. Drei Wochen später steht die Premiere.

Es ist eine Zeit der Veränderung – das irrwitzige Tempo mit dem Rossini komponiert, die maschinenhafte Mechanik seiner Orchesterbegleitung und die extreme Verzierungswut der Gesangspartien spiegeln eine Welt im Wandel wider. Denn es kracht und knarzt in ganz Europa. Grenzen, Weltbilder und Technologien wandeln sich rasant. Eben noch schwappten von Frankreich ausgehend die neuen Ideale von Liberté, Égalité und Fraternité über den Kontinent, schon versuchen die europäischen Königshäuser die Uhr zurückzudrehen: Frankreich bekommt wieder einen Bourbonenkönig, auf dem Wiener Kongress wird das alte Europa aufgeteilt. Seit Rossinis Geburt, 1792 im norditalienischen Pesaro, wechselten in Italien quasi im Jahrestakt die politischen Tonangeber. Eine Zeit der Unsicherheit und Haltlosigkeit. Die Menschen zieht es in die Städte – die Rolle des Adels wird zurückgedrängt. Die neuen Bürger übernehmen die Gestaltungshoheit über ihre Städte und Geschäfte.

Das öffentliche Leben floriert und somit auch die Konkurrenz. Immer neue Sensationen müssen die Betreiber privater Theater- und Opernhäuser dem Publikum bieten, da passen die Innovationen des jungen Rossini perfekt ins Programm. Er ist der Remixer alter Stoffe: Die kaum noch innovative Opera buffa erneuert er von innen heraus; Rossini greift oftmals auf bekannte Geschichten zurück, treibt sie aber mit musikalischem Irrwitz und sängerischer Virtuosität auf die Spitze. Cesarini erhofft sich am Teatro Argentina im Februar 1816 einen solchen Erfolg, doch die Uraufführung wird zum krachenden Desaster. Der Leiter des Teatro Valle war nämlich keineswegs amüsiert darüber, dass Rossini für die beiden konkurrierenden Häuser binnen kürzester Zeit neue Stücke schrieb und lässt die Premiere stören: bezahlte Buher und Anti-Claquere zischen in den Gesangsnummern und übertönen die Musik. Ihnen hilft, dass die Aufführung holprig abläuft: Schon beim ersten Auftritt stolpert der Darsteller des Don Basilio über eine Bodenklappe und muss fortan mit zerkratzter, blutender Nase singen. Ein Augenzeuge berichtet: „Das liebe Publikum sah mit Freuden das Fließen von Blut, ganz wie seine Vorfahren im Kolosseum. Es lacht, applaudierte, verlangte eine Wiederholung, kurz, es war ein furchtbares Durcheinander.“ Irgendwann springt sogar eine Katze auf die Bühne, hüpft von einem Sänger zum anderen, begleitet von einem laut miauenden Publikum – was vom Stücke übrig bleibt ist ein Konzert aus Katzenjammern, Pfiffen und Buhrufen. Die zweite Aufführung fand ohne den jungen Maestro statt – zu sehr hat ihn der Tumult getroffen.

Doch jetzt hört, schaut und staunt das Publikum ungestört mit offenen Ohren und erkennt den wahren Wert der Neukomposition. Ein knappes halbes Jahr später wird die Oper in Bologna zum zweiten Mal inszeniert: DER BARBIER VON SEVILLA beginnt seinen Siegeszug um die Welt.