An essay by Kerstin Schüssler-Bach

The woman from the sea

Detlev Glanert’s eleventh work of musical theatre, Oceane, is based on a fragment of a novel by Fontane. Commissioned by the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the opera is scheduled to premiere with a star line-up in April 2019.

“The day drew to a close, another dawned; Oceane was gone.” With that spare but dramatic statement Fontane announces the departure of his enigmatic title character from this world. In his literary fragment, Oceane von Parceval, the poet again places a mysterious, modern Melusine-type entity at the centre of events. Right up to his final novel, Der Stechlin, Fontane’s works regularly feature young women who at once fascinate and provoke with their extravagant ways and essential naturalness.

Detlev Glanert, a dedicated reader and man of letters, encountered the Fontane original many years ago and in his hands the material has now taken on the dimensions of an opera. He teamed up with Hans-Ulrich Treichel, author of the libretto for CALIGULA, to produce a scenography that could render the pauses and caesurae of Fontane’s draft in tonal form. The romancier of bourgeois realism, whose bicentenary in 2019 will be the occasion for much celebration in Berlin and throughout Brandenburg, captured the social conventions of his age in polished dialogues, with conversation standing in for explicit action. The task, therefore, was to adapt Oceane von Parceval for the stage and slightly exaggerate characters and situations for effect. During Germany’s Imperial period the young Oceane von Parceval arrives in a seaside town with her companion, Kristina, and proceeds to stir up the hotel guests with her nonchalant behaviour. Martin von Dircksen, a young landowner, pictures the enigmatic beauty as his future wife. Pastor Baltzer, however, leads local resistance to the woman, who is quite comfortable defying conventions while also desperately trying to find her niche in society. Martin’s affections seem to offer a path to this stolidity, yet Oceane’s ties to the elemental nature of her existence is stronger and she ends up returning to the sea whence she came.

Nymph-like creatures have featured in many a work of art or literature, often as Melusine, a rusalka or an undine. Like her sisters, Oceane appears to be a figment of male-gaze fantasy, yet her tragic quality derives from her realisation that she will never be able to fulfil her desire for love and human closeness. Martin, too, whose wishes are too much for her, never manages to penetrate her glass wall. Therein lies, in Detlev Glanert’s eyes, a thoroughly modern psychological predicament for a character who is unable to communicate with the outside world, despite the intensity of her yearnings. Martin, who represents a new order anchored in capital and efficiency, is denied access to Oceane’s individualistic inner world. Glanert gives the chorus a special part to play, the ensemble not only representing a sharply delineated society but also conveying the voice of the sea, a voice that connects Oceane to her element. Glanert has conferred on each character his or her distinct sound, playing with assignations from the operatic tradition.

For this commissioned work, instigated by Artistic Director Dietmar Schwarz, the Deutsche Oper Berlin has attracted a number of renowned artists. General Music Director Donald Runnicles, who conducted the world premiere of Glanert’s Brahms-Fantasie in 2012, will be at the stand. The opera is directed by Robert Carsen, with the key roles sung by Maria Bengtsson and Nikolai Schukoff. Not for nothing has Detlev acquired a reputation as a composer who knows how to write for individual voices. Very early in the creative process he was already in talks and rehearsals with the soloists for OCEANE. Glanert has repeatedly shown that he sees opera as a collective art form.

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field






Newsletter

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
09. Dez

Ein Essay von Kerstin Schüssler-Bach

Die Frau vom Meer

Detlev Glanerts elftes Musiktheaterwerk Oceane ist inspiriert von einem Romanfragment Fontanes. Das Auftragswerk der Deutschen Oper Berlin kommt im April 2019 prominent besetzt zur Uraufführung.

Uraufführung: Oceane
Ein Sommerstück für Musik in zwei Akten von Detlev Glanert

Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Robert Carsen

Mit Maria Bengtsson, Nikolai Schukoff, Christoph Pohl, Nicole Haslett, Albert Pesendorfer, Doris Soffel, Stephen Bronk sowie Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin
ab 28. April 2018

„Der Tag ging, ein anderer kam, Oceane war fort.“ So lapidar lässt Theodor Fontane seine geheimnisvolle Titelfigur aus dem Leben verschwinden. In seinem Romanfragment Oceane von Parceval (1882) hat der Dichter abermals eine rätselhafte, moderne Melusinengestalt ins Zentrum gestellt. Bis hin zum Alterswerk Der Stechlin wird Fontanes Werk von solchen jungen Frauen durchzogen, die durch ihre Extravaganz und Naturhaftigkeit gleichermaßen faszinieren wie provozieren.

Detlev Glanert, ein passionierter Leser und Literaturkenner, ist diesem Fontane-Text vor vielen Jahren begegnet. Seitdem hat sich der Stoff in ihm zur Oper angereichert. Mit Hans-Ulrich Treichel, der bereits das Libretto zu CALIGULA schuf, konzipierte Glanert ein Szenario, das die Leer- und Bruchstellen in Fontanes Entwurf in Klang verwandelt. Die Gesellschaftskonventionen seiner Zeit hat der Romancier des bürgerlichen Realismus in geschliffenen Dialogen gezeichnet. Konversation ersetzt bei Fontane, dessen 200. Geburtstag 2019 in Brandenburg und Berlin groß gefeiert wird, die explizite Handlung. So galt es, Oceane von Parceval zu dramatisieren, Charaktere und Situationen zuzuspitzen: In einem Badeort zur Kaiserzeit trifft die junge Oceane von Parceval mit ihrer Gesellschafterin Kristina ein. Sie irritiert die Hotelgäste durch ihr ungezwungenes Benehmen. Der junge Gutsbesitzer Martin von Dircksen sieht in der enigmatischen Schönen seine zukünftige Gattin. Aber vor allem Pastor Baltzer führt das Wort gegen diese Frau, die sich so selbstbewusst außerhalb der Konvention stellt. Dennoch sucht sie verzweifelt ihren Platz in dieser Gesellschaft. Martins Liebe scheint eine Möglichkeit aufzuzeigen, aber Oceanes Bindung an das Elementare ist stärker. Sie geht zurück ins Meer, aus dem sie kam.

 

Oceane eine Projektionsfigur männlicher Weiblichkeitsfantasien
 

 

Als Melusine, Rusalka oder Undine fand das nymphenhafte Naturwesen in der Kunst zahlreiche Darstellungen. Wie ihre Schwestern scheint Oceane eine Projektionsfigur männlicher Weiblichkeitsfantasien, doch sie gewinnt ihre tragische Dimension aus der Erkenntnis, dass sie ihren Wunsch nach Liebe und Nähe zu den Menschen niemals wird realisieren können. Auch Martin, der sie mit seinen Wünschen überfordert, gelingt es nicht, diese gläserne Wand zu durchbrechen. Darin sieht Detlev Glanert eine sehr moderne psychologische Anlage der Figur, die trotz ihrer brennenden Sehnsucht nicht mit der Außenwelt kommunizieren kann. Martin, dem Vertreter der neuen, auf Kapital und Effizienz gerichteten Ordnung, bleibt der Zugang zu dieser individualistischen Innenwelt Oceanes verwehrt. Eine besondere Rolle schreibt Glanert dem Chor zu: Er vertritt nicht nur die scharf umrissene Gesellschaft, sondern übernimmt auch die Stimme des Meeres, die Oceane mit ihrem Element verbindet. Den Figuren hat Glanert klare Klangprofile verliehen, die mit Zuweisungen aus der Operntradition spielen.

Für das von Intendant Dietmar Schwarz angeregte Auftragswerk hat die Deutsche Oper Berlin renommierte Künstlerinnen und Künstler verpflichtet. GMD Donald Runnicles, der 2012 bereits Glanerts „Brahms-Fantasie“ zur Uraufführung brachte, steht am Pult. Die Inszenierung besorgt Robert Carsen, die Hauptpartien singen Maria Bengtsson und Nikolai Schukoff. Nicht umsonst gilt Detlev Glanert als ein Komponist, der weiß, wie man für Stimmen schreibt. Mit den Solistinnen und Solisten von OCEANE traf er sich lange vorab zu Proben und Gesprächen. Zur Oper als kollektiver Kunstform hat sich Glanert vielfach bekannt.