Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
13. Dec

A place of serenity for my soul ...

Clémentine Margaine

The mezzo-soprano Clémentine Margaine is enamoured with the Deutsche Oper Berlin. It was the first place that was not too small for her voice. She now returns to the opera house for Massenet’s DON QUICHOTTE.

Don Quichotte
Comédie héroique by Jules Massenet
Conductor: Emmanuel Villaume
Director: Jakop Ahlbom
With Alex Esposito, Seth Carico, Clémentine Margaine et al.
Premiere on 30 May 2019

The Deutsche Oper Berlin is like a home from home for me. Why? Because I’ve always been able to sing as loud as I like. I’ve always had a very loud voice. After every audition at the Paris Conservatoire my teachers would say “Clémentine, you’re just too loud, way too loud! You’ll never sing Mozart with a voice like that. You’ve got to tone it down!” I had, like, this amazing tool within me and I continually had to damp it down. It didn’t feel right! I was in my mid-20s and impatient and it felt like I was being stifled. I had to get out of France. A key moment for me came in Magdeburg: I was in a French production, it was winter, cold and gloomy, I was bored. I called my then manager and asked him to get me an audition, anywhere, it didn’t matter.

He got me an audition with Christophe Seuferle, the director of opera at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. I’ll never forget that day. As I began to sing Christophe Seuferle’s face kind of lit up. Everything about him said “Wow!” He offered me a string of roles right off the bat and made me a member of the ensemble. For the first time ever my voice wasn’t too loud. It was exactly the right volume. I jumped at the opportunity. It was the best thing that could have happened, a dream come true.

In my two years at the Deutsche Oper Berlin I was completely immersed in music. It was almost like I lived there. I had my own key, I could go wherever I wanted, poking around here and there. A colleague of mine had got some fitness course going, so I would arrive in the early morning. After the workout the rehearsals started. I also used to slip in to rehearsal rooms and listen in on other people practising. If I wasn’t singing myself, I would look at what other people were doing. Then we would go to the canteen. On top of all that there’s all the music events happening in Berlin. I spent two years going to performances almost every evening, at the Deutsche Oper Berlin or the Staatsoper or the Philharmonie.

My favourite place in the Deutsche Oper Berlin is the stage. I’m very familiar with the acoustics and know how best to use my voice to hit a particular area of the auditorium. The Deutsche Oper has the biggest stage and the biggest auditorium in Berlin and, if you ask me, one of the best set of acoustics to be found anywhere. It’s predestined for grand opéra – and, well, for powerful voices. I sang Carmen here once and there were people from the Chicago and Washington opera in the audience.

After that I got some very good offers and I moved on. I’ve now worked at most of the world’s great opera houses. It turns out that you need a strong voice to fill out the auditorium at the Met. Even when you’re singing Mozart. So my teachers in France were wrong when they told me my voice was too loud.

Now I’m back here singing Dulcinée in DON QUICHOTTE. I count myself lucky, because the opera isn’t mounted that often! Which is a pity, because the work is like a lovely breeze, wafting but refreshing at the same time, cheerful but also profound. Dulcinée behaves like a cow throughout. Only in the end does she reveal her fragility to Don Quichotte.

It’s fantastic to be back. And in springtime, too! I can already see myself sitting outside the opera house. It feels like I’m revisiting my childhood home. In fact, I think my white pushbike is still locked up in the yard where I left it.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

Mein Seelenort

Clémentine Margaine

Die Mezzosopranistin Clémentine Margaine liebt die Deutsche Oper Berlin. Sie war der erste Ort, für den ihre Stimme nicht zu laut war. Für Massenets DON QUICHOTTE kehrt sie jetzt zurück

Don Quichotte
Comédie héroique von Jules Massenet
Musikalische Leitung: Emmanuel Villaume
Inszenierung: Jakop Ahlbom
Mit Alex Esposito, Seth Carico, Clémentine Margaine u. a.
Premiere am 30. Mai 2019

Die Deutsche Oper Berlin ist für mich wie ein Zuhause. Warum? Weil ich hier immer so laut singen durfte, wie ich wollte. Ich war immer schon sehr laut. Nach jedem Vorsingen haben meine Lehrer am Konservatorium in Paris zu mir gesagt: „Clémentine, du bist einfach viel, viel zu laut! Mit dieser Stimme wirst du nie Mozart singen. Du musst leiser werden!“ Ich hatte also dieses großartige Instrument in mir, das ich stets herunterdimmen sollte. Und das fühlte sich falsch an! Ich war Mitte zwanzig, ungeduldig und ich hatte das Gefühl der Enge. Ich musste fort aus Frankreich. So kam es, dass ich in einer französischen Produktion in Magdeburg sang, es war Winter, kalt und trist. Mir war langweilig, ich rief meinen damaligen Manager an und bat ihn, mir ein Vorsingen zu organisieren – egal wo.

Mein Manager hat mir einen Termin bei Christoph Seuferle verschafft, dem Operndirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin. Diesen Tag werde ich nie vergessen: Ich begann zu singen, das Gesicht von Christoph Seuferle wurde groß, alles an ihm sagte „Wow!“ Er bot mir sofort zahlreiche Rollen an und holte mich ins Ensemble. Und ich? Zum ersten Mal in meinem Leben war meine Stimme nicht zu laut. Sondern genau richtig. Ich sagte zu, es war das Beste, was mir passieren konnte, ein Traum, der Wirklichkeit wurde.

In meinen zwei Jahren an der Deutschen Oper Berlin war ich ununterbrochen von Musik umgeben. Ich habe dort fast gewohnt, besaß einen Schlüssel, konnte alles entdecken, überall herumschnüffeln. Ein Kollege hat einen Fitnesskurs angeleiert, also kam ich schon früh morgens. Nach dem Sport begannen die Proben. Ich habe mich auch bei Kollegen reingeschlichen und gelauscht. Wenn ich selbst keine Aufführung hatte, setzte ich mich in die Aufführungen der Kollegen. Danach saßen wir in der Kantine. Hinzu kommt das irrsinnige musikalische Angebot in Berlin. Zwei Jahre lang war ich fast jeden Abend in einer Vorstellung, entweder an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, an der Staatsoper oder in der Philharmonie.

Mein Lieblingsort in der Deutschen Oper Berlin ist die Bühne. Ich kenne die Akustik genau und weiß, wie ich meine Stimme einsetzen muss, damit der Ton eine bestimmte Stelle im Raum trifft. Die Deutsche Oper hat die größte Bühne, den größten Saal Berlins und, wie ich finde, einen der besten Raumklänge überhaupt, prädestiniert für große Oper – und, nun ja, kraftvolle Stimmen. Einmal habe ich hier die Carmen gesungen und Leute von der Oper in Chicago und von der in Washington saßen im Publikum.

Danach bekam ich tolle Angebote – und es zog mich weiter. Mittlerweile habe ich an fast allen großen Häusern der Welt gesungen. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass man auch an der Met eine gewaltige Stimme haben muss, um den Saal auszufüllen. Selbst wenn man Mozart singt. Meine Lehrer in Frankreich lagen also falsch, als sie sagten, meine Stimme sei zu laut.

Jetzt kehre ich zurück und singe die Dulcinée in DON QUICHOTTE. Was für ein Glück, denn diese Oper wird nicht sehr oft gespielt! Dabei ist das Stück wie eine herrlich leichte, aber erfrischende Brise: heiter, aber mit Tiefgang. Dulcinée benimmt sich das ganze Stück über wie eine Zicke. Erst am Schluss zeigt sie Don Quichotte ihre Zerbrechlichkeit.

Es ist wunderbar, wieder hier zu sein. Und dann auch noch im Frühling! Ich sehe mich schon draußen vor der Oper sitzen. Es ist, als kehrte ich in das Haus meiner Jugend zurück. Ich glaube, im Hof steht noch mein weißes Fahrrad, das ich hier zurückgelassen habe.