Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

SIEGFRIED: Premiere and "Ambushed from behind" postponed to an as yet undetermined date

The Deutsche Oper Berlin is in final rehearsals for Richard Wagner's SIEGFRIED with a strict test concept, preparing the continuation of the new RING under the baton of Sir Donald Runnicles and directed by Stefan Herheim. Unfortunately, this premiere, which was scheduled for 18 April, cannot take place either due to the current pandemic situation and has to be postponed to an as yet undetermined date. Clay Hilley is in rehearsals as the title character on stage, alongside Ya-Chung Huang as Mime, Iain Paterson as Der Wanderer, Markus Brück as Alberich and Nina Stemme as Brünnhilde, among others. We will let you know the new premiere date as soon as it is foreseeable.

This also means that the date announced for 30 April in the Tischlerei for the premiere of SIEGFRIED with Sofia Portanet, members of the Deutsche Oper Berlin ensemble and musicians from the orchestra in the series "Ambushed from behind: Power of the Arts" will be postponed.

Richard Wagner: Siegfried

A scenic festival in three days and one eve – The second day
First performed on 16th August, 1876 in Bayreuth

In German with German and English surtitles
5 hours 45 minutes | 2 intermissions

The new premiere date, the start of ticket sales and subsequent dates will be announced as soon as possible.

We thank the Förderkreis and the Circle 2020 for the great support

 

A large cloth plays a central part in the new RING DES NIBELUNGEN. In SIEGFRIED, too, it will repeatedly provide magical moments, often having to be unfurled across the entire width of the stage in a flash and disappearing again just as quickly. © Bernd Uhlig
 

The two middle sections of the tetralogy set out two ways of experiencing life. On the one hand we are presented in THE VALKYRIE with Brünnhilde, whose maturation process takes her from her discovery of sorrow and empathy to a conscious reflection on what it is to be human. By contrast, Siegfried’s path is mapped out solely as a function of his sensory experience. Where initially the young man’s self-image stems only from his exploration of his own boundless strength, other senses and sensibilities soon come to bear, along with an awakening sexuality. SIEGFRIED presents an encounter not only between man and woman but between two principles – Siegfried’s innate, unquestioned vigour on one side and Brünnhilde’s wisdom born of observation on the other. And as these two diametrical forces unite in a love clinch, the end of the opera seems to be presenting the basis for a renewal of human society.

Wagner described the second day of his RING as a "heroic comedy" - and to this day every new production of SIEGFRIED searches for the balance between comic and tragic elements. In Herheim's version, it is the act of the play that unites the opposites into a whole. The boundaries between animal and human are blurred here, as are those between the characters and their creator; the intensity of the stage moment is in tension with a complex reading of the characters as bearers of meaning.

Conductor: Sir Donald Runnicles; Director, Set designs: Stefan Herheim; Co-set designer: Silke Bauer; Costumes: Uta Heiseke; Video: Torge Møller; Lighting: Ulrich Niepel; Dramaturgy: Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf – Siegfried: Clay Hilley; Mime: Ya-Chung Huang; Der Wanderer: Iain Paterson; Alberich: Markus Brück; Fafner: Tobias Kehrer; Erda: Lindsay Ammann; Brünnhilde: Nina Stemme; Ein Waldvogel: Solisten des Knabenchores der Chorakademie Dortmund; Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

 

Silke Bauer teamed up with director Stefan Herheim to create the stage set for Wagner’s SIEGFRIED
 
Silke Bauer © R. Hagenbrock
 

"The Deutsche Oper Berlin is my homebase. I did my set-sculpture training here ten years ago. And now I’m working with Stefan Herheim on the set design for the RING. Stefan’s like a big brother to me. We have fun sparring with each other and are often together for 13 hours a day. In SIEGFRIED Wotan’s energy is represented by a massive sheet of silk. Just as the music is heralding the approach of Wotan this silk sheet has to glide down onto the stage from above. It has to happen in a particular way and we spent days trying to get it right. I plotted the trajectory on the computer and then we tested it - virtually and then in practice. How do we tighten the wire? Should this section or that section be weighted down more? It came together in the end, but we drove the stage crew mad in the process. But this kind of botching and tinkering is precisely where I get my satisfaction. Deep down I’m a mini Gyro Gearloose."

 

Both of us have a healthy scepticism, so we don’t swallow everything people tell us. And maybe most important: I don’t take ‘no’ for an answer. ... Clay Hilley about Siegfried
 
Clay Hilley in the foyer of our opera house © Max Zerrahn
 

Obviously there are differences, too. Siegfried is the prototypical hero, quite impulsive, very direct and forthright, quite childlike, actually. My idea of heroism is completely different. For me, heroes do good deeds behind the scenes and stick up for minorities and are part of the struggle for a better world on a daily basis. They’re not in the limelight and don’t expect thanks for doing what they do. It could be a nurse on the night shift, a teacher helping a child progress, someone raising money for a good cause. Then there’s the fact that Siegfried isn’t scared of anything. I feel his fearlessness when I’m singing, especially in the final words of the work when he sings about »shining love / laughing death!« Not even death is frightening to him, whereas I know very well what fear is. It hit me in the stomach last year when the theatres and opera houses closed down due to the pandemic. [...] Read here our blog article Clay Hilley: A place of serenity for my soul … my suitcase

 

Ya-Chung Huang grew up in Taiwan and acquired German as an adult learner. In SIEGFRIED he sings the role of the evil dwarf, Mime
Ya-Chung Huang 
 

1.) How do you manage to sing in a language you don’t understand? The important thing is to understand the meaning of the words – otherwise I’d feel a bit like a parrot. German has more consonants than my native language does and the consonants make it harder for me to sing legato – or linked. I’ve always had a struggle singing legato in German-language operas and still preserving the clarity of the consonants. 2.) How do you learn a language through the medium of singing? I definitely have learnt a lot of words from my contact with the German repertoire! With Wagner it’s a bit dodgy, because I end up using phrases in everyday speech that no one says anymore, expressions like ‘methinks..’. 3.) Zerschwängen, zertrotzen ... Words like those sound very strange even to native speakers’ ears. How did you go about grappling with Wagnerian German? I may actually have an advantage because of my limited vocabulary! For me Wagner’s German is just German. It doesn’t occur to me that those words aren’t in everyday use ... We have asked Ya-Chung Huang further questions ... to be read in our blog

 

Ambushed from Behind: Power of the Arts

Late night performances accompanying our opera premieres

In German language / approx. 60 minutes | no intermission

The new premiere date and the start of ticket sales will be announced as soon as possible.

A cooperation with Musicboard Berlin GmbH

Sofia Portanet © Lucio Aru & Franco Erre
 

Siegfried is the hero "who knows no fear". Having grown up alone in the forest, in Mime’s smithy, he is innocent of the ways of the world – and yet he has an irresistible urge to sally forth and explore it. Siegfried’s yearning is the central theme for Sofia Portanet as she takes a closer look at the hero - arguably the greatest in opera – in our "Ambushed From Behind" series.

“In my view Wagner is pop – and I don’t mean that in the sense of the mainstream genre that we hear on the radio. Pop, for me, is entertainment. Pop tells stories that people can relate to and respond to. And that’s what Wagner gives us. That’s why his works are popular and performed so often. For this edition of »Ambush« I’m using music from my latest album, »Freier Geist«. My band is teaming up with a four-strong wind section, three strings and four singers from the opera ensemble. Some of the SIEGFRIED passages are being done by us as a band. I’m singing an aria, the one by Notung, when he’s forging the sword. Ever since I sang in the children’s chorus of the Opéra National de Paris I’ve been fascinated by opera as an art form. It has an impact on all levels: the music, the visuals, the performance. Opera opens up a space for drama to flourish. It’s a place where it’s okay to have exaggerated feelings and emotions.” — Sofia Portanet

The power of the arts is great. Yet where exactly does it lie? What can it achieve? Whom can it reach? What interests does it serve? THE POWER OF THE ARTS is the theme of the late-night series AMBUSHED FROM BEHIND. As of the 2020/21 season it will be curated by the singer, composer and director Elia Rediger. It thus continues the series' successful concept of providing commentary on five premieres on the main stage.

Concept, stage director: Elia Rediger; Set and costumes: Noemi Baumblatt; Dramaturgy: Sebastian Hanusa — With special guest Sofia Portanet and soloists and musicians of the Deutsche Oper Berlin

 

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

SIEGFRIED: Premiere und Hinterhalt auf noch unbestimmten Termin verschoben

Die Deutsche Oper Berlin befindet sich mit strengem Testkonzept in den Endproben zu Richard Wagners SIEGFRIED und bereitet damit die Fortsetzung des neuen RINGS unter musikalischer Leitung von Sir Donald Runnicles und in der Regie von Stefan Herheim vor. Leider kann auch diese Premiere, die für den 18. April geplant war, aufgrund der aktuellen Pandemie-Situation nicht stattfinden und muss auf einen noch unbestimmten Termin verschoben werden. Clay Hilley steht in den Proben als Titelheld auf der Bühne, an der Seite von Ya-Chung Huang als Mime, Iain Paterson als Der Wanderer, Markus Brück als Alberich sowie Nina Stemme als Brünnhilde u. a. Wir teilen Ihnen den neuen Premierentermin mit, sobald er absehbar ist.

Ebenfalls verschoben wird damit der für den 30. April in der Tischlerei angekündigte Termin in der Reihe „Aus dem Hinterhalt: Macht der Künste“ zur Premiere von SIEGFRIED mit Sofia Portanet, Mitgliedern des Ensembles der Deutschen Oper Berlin sowie Musikerinnen und Musikern des Orchesters.

 

Richard Wagner: Siegfried


Ein Bühnenfestspiel für drei Tage und einen Vorabend – Zweiter Tag
Uraufführung am 16. August 1876 in Bayreuth

In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
5 Stunden 45 Minuten | Zwei Pausen

Der neue Premierentermin, der Kartenvorverkaufsbeginn und die Folgetermine werden sobald als absehbar bekannt gegeben.

Wir danken dem Förderkreis und dem Circle 2020 für die großartige Unterstützung

 

Ein großes Tuch spielt im neuen RING DES NIBELUNGEN eine zentrale Rolle. Auch im SIEGFRIED wird es immer wieder für magische Momente sorgen, muss oft blitzschnell über die ganze Bühnenbreite entfaltet werden und genauso rasch wieder verschwinden. © Bernd Uhlig
 

Zwei Wege, das Leben zu erfahren, beschreiben die beiden Mittelstücke der Tetralogie: Während sich der Reifeprozess Brünnhildes in der WALKÜRE über die Erfahrung von Leid und Mitgefühl hin zum bewussten Reflektieren des Menschseins vollzieht, wird der Weg Siegfrieds allein durch die sinnliche Erfahrung des Ich geprägt. Ist es zunächst nur die Erkundung der eigenen, schier grenzenlosen Körperkraft, die das Selbstbild des jungen Mannes formt, treten bald andere Sinneseindrücke und schließlich das Erlebnis der erwachenden Sexualität hinzu. Nicht nur Mann und Frau, sondern auch zwei Prinzipien stoßen im SIEGFRIED aufeinander: Auf der einen Seite die natürliche, durch keinerlei Zweifel getrübte Tatkraft Siegfrieds, auf der anderen die aus der teilnehmenden Beobachtung gewonnene Weisheit Brünnhildes. Und mit Vereinigung dieser beiden entgegengesetzten Kräfte im liebenden Paar scheint am Ende des Werkes für einen Moment die Grundlage für eine Neugründung der menschlichen Gesellschaft im Raum zu stehen.

Als »heroisches Lustspiel« bezeichnete Wagner den zweiten Tag seines RINGS – und bis heute sucht jede Neuproduktion des SIEGFRIED nach der Balance zwischen komischen und tragischen Elementen. In Herheims Version ist es der Akt des Spiels, der die Gegensätze zum Ganzen fügt. Die Grenzen zwischen Tier und Mensch verschwimmen hier ebenso wie die zwischen den Figuren und ihrem Schöpfer, die Intensität des Bühnenmoments steht in einem Spannungsverhältnis zu einer komplexen Lesart der Figuren als Bedeutungsträger.

Musikalische Leitung: Sir Donald Runnicles; Inszenierung, Bühne: Stefan Herheim; Co-Bühnenbildnerin: Silke Bauer; Kostüme: Uta Heiseke; Video: Torge Møller; Licht: Ulrich Niepel; Dramaturgie: Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach, Jörg Königsdorf – Siegfried: Clay Hilley; Mime: Ya-Chung Huang; Der Wanderer: Iain Paterson; Alberich: Markus Brück; Fafner: Tobias Kehrer; Erda: Lindsay Ammann; Brünnhilde: Nina Stemme; Ein Waldvogel: Solisten des Knabenchores der Chorakademie Dortmund; Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

 

Silke Bauer schuf gemeinsam mit Regisseur Stefan Herheim das Bühnenbild für Wagners SIEGFRIED
 
Silke Bauer © R. Hagenbrock
 

„Die Deutsche Oper Berlin ist mein Mutterschiff. Vor zehn Jahren habe ich hier meine Ausbildung als Bühnenplastikerin gemacht, gerade arbeite ich mit Stefan Herheim an der Bühne für den RING. Stefan ist wie ein großer Bruder, wir haben Rangeleien und Spaß, verbringen oft 13 Stunden am Tag zusammen. In SIEGFRIED ist ein riesiger Seidenstoff zentral, der stellt Wotans Energie dar. In der Musik hört man Wotan anreiten – und genau in diesen Sekunden muss die Seide auf eine bestimmte Weise von oben auf die Bühne gleiten. Wir haben tagelang daran gefeilt. Erst habe ich die Fahrten am Computer berechnet, dann haben wir im Modell geprobt, schließlich auf der Bühne: Wie spannen wir das Seil? Muss hier noch Blei rein? Oder da? Bis es perfekt flatterte, hatten wir die Bühnenmannschaft in den Wahnsinn getrieben. Aber genau dieses Basteln mag ich: Im Grunde bin ich ein kleiner Daniel Düsentrieb.“

Wir sind beide auf eine gesunde Art skeptisch, wir glauben nicht alles, was man uns erzählt. Und, vielleicht das Wichtigste: Ich akzeptiere kein Nein ... Clay Hilley über Siegfried
 
Clay Hilley im Foyer der Deutschen Oper Berlin © Max Zerrahn
 

 Aber es gibt natürlich auch Unterschiede zwischen uns. Siegfried ist der prototypische Held, einer, der nicht nachdenkt, der alles auf direktem Weg erreichen will, auf eine fast kindliche Art. Ich selber habe ein völlig anderes Bild von Helden. Für mich sind Helden diejenigen, die hinter den Kulissen Gutes tun, die sich einsetzen für Minderheiten, die täglich für eine bessere Welt kämpfen. Die keinen Dank erwarten für das, was sie getan haben, die nicht im Rampenlicht stehen. Das kann ein Krankenpfleger im Nachtdienst sein, eine Lehrerin, die ein Kind unterstützt, jemand, der Geld sammelt für einen guten Zweck. Außerdem hat Siegfried keine Angst. Diese Furchtlosigkeit spüre ich beim Singen vor allem in den letzten Zeilen des Stücks: »leuchtende Liebe / lachender Tod!« Er fürchtet nicht einmal den Tod. Ich jedoch kenne die Angst. Ich habe sie stark gespürt, als im vergangenen Jahr die Theater und Opernhäuser wegen der Pandemie schließen mussten. [...] Lesen Sie hier den Blog-Artikel Clay Hilley: Mein Seelenort - Der Koffer

 

Ya-Chung Huang ist in Taiwan aufgewachsen und lernte Deutsch als Erwachsener. In SIEGFRIED singt er den Mime. Silke Alsweiler-Lösch befragt im Podcast des Förderkreises den sympathischen Tenor.
Duett #13 ... Ein Gespräch mit Ya-Chung Huang ... Hier geht es zum Podcast
 
 

 

 

Aus dem Hinterhalt: Die Macht der Künste

Late-Night-Performances zur Großen Oper

In deutscher Sprache / ca 60 Minuten | Keine Pause

Der neue Premierentermin und der Kartenvorverkaufsbeginn werden sobald als absehbar bekannt gegeben.

In Kooperation mit Musicboard Berlin GmbH

Sofia Portanet © Lucio Aru & Franco Erre
 

Siegfried ist der Held, „der das Fürchten nie erfuhr“. Aufgewachsen allein im Wald in Mimes Schmiede, weiß er nichts von der Welt – und trotzdem treibt ihn die unstillbare Sehnsucht, dorthin hinauszuziehen. Siegfrieds Sehnsucht ist das zentrale Thema für Sofia Portanet, wenn sie diesen wohl größten aller Opernhelden in der Reihe AUS DEM HINTERHALT etwas genauer unter die Lupe nimmt.

„Wagner ist aus meiner Sicht Pop – und ich meine nicht das Genre, das wir als Mainstream im Radio hören. Für mich geht es bei Pop um Unterhaltung: Pop erzählt Geschichten, an die Menschen andocken können. Und genau das macht Wagner. Deshalb werden seine Werke viel gespielt und sind populär. Für den »Hinterhalt« nutze ich Musik von meinem aktuellen Album »Freier Geist«, gemeinsam mit meiner Band spielen vier Bläser, drei Streicher, vier Sänger*innen der Oper. Manche SIEGFRIED-Passagen spielen wir als Band, eine Arie singe ich: die von Notung, wenn er das Schwert schmiedet. Ich habe im Kinderchor der Pariser Nationaloper gesungen, seitdem fasziniert mich Oper als Kunstform, sie wirkt auf allen Ebenen: musikalisch, visuell, performativ. Die Oper bietet Raum für Drama – ein Ort, an dem es okay ist, übertrieben zu fühlen.“ — Sofia Portanet

Die Macht der Künste ist groß. Doch worin genau besteht sie? Was kann sie bewirken? Wen kann sie erreichen? Welchen Interessen dient sie? MACHT DER KÜNSTE ist das Thema der Late-Night-Reihe AUS DEM HINTERHALT. Kuratiert wird sie ab der Spielzeit 2020/21 von dem Sänger, Komponisten und Regisseur Elia Rediger. Er setzt damit das erfolgreiche Konzept der Reihe fort, fünf Premieren auf der Großen Bühne mit einem Kommentar zu begegnen.

Konzept, Künstlerische Leitung: Elia Rediger; Ausstattung: Noemi Baumblatt; Dramaturgie: Sebastian Hanusa — Mit Sofia Portanet, Ensemblesolist*innen und Musiker*innen des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper Berlin

 

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld