This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

Chamber Music II: Against forgetfulness

Chamber music in an unconventional atmosphere

Informationen Zum Werk

A memorial concert for Wladyslaw Waghalter, Max Rosenthal, Werner Lywen and Hans Kraus

approx. 2 hours 30 minutes / one interval

About the performance

Memories in words, pictures and music of four former members of the orchestra of the Deutsches Opernhaus who were expelled or murdered under the National Socialist reign of terror.

Hans [Johann] Kraus
* 27.2.1883 in Jevícko/Moravia [today Czech Republic]
† 24.3.1971 in San Francisco/USA
Cellist of the orchestra of the DOB since 1913, member of the Waghalter Quartet
After 1933 active work in the Jewish Cultural Association
1940 emigration to Shanghai, 1947 to the USA

Max Rosenthal
* 25.1.1884 in Aken/Germany
† presumably 1942 in Minsk/Belarus
Since 1913 member of the 2nd violins of the orchestra of the DOB
On 14.11.1941 deported from Berlin to Minsk together with his wife Auguste Rosenthal and daughter Johanna

Wladyslaw Waghalter
* 1.6.1885 in Warsaw/Russia [today Poland]
† 20.10.1940 in Berlin
Studies with Joseph Joachim, founder of the Waghalter Quartet
Prize winner of the Mendelssohn-Bartholdy University Competition in 1903 and 1905
Was concert master at the house since 1912.
Appeared several times as soloist with the orchestra.
His brother Ignatz opened the DOB as conductor.

Werner Lywen
* 2.6.1909 in Berlin
† 15.10.2002 in Los Angeles/USA
Studies with Karl Klingler in Berlin
Member of the viola group of the orchestra of the DOB since 1929
1936 Emigration to the USA
Engagements at the Metropolitan Opera and Broadway,
Work as concertmaster and soloist with the New York City Symphony under Leonard Bernstein and with the National Symphony Orchestra/Washington.
Professorships at the American University and the Californian State University.

Ignatz Waghalter (1881 – 1949)
Sonata for violin and piano f-Major op. 5

Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
String quartet C-Major, op. 54,2

Paul Hindemith (1895 – 1963)
Duo for viola and violoncello

Erwin Schulhoff (1894 – 1942)
String sextet

Igor Strawinsky (1882 – 1971)
From „Geschichte vom Soldaten"
Three Dances – Pastorale – March

Our Sponsors

Presented by taz.die Tageszeitung