This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

The Farewell Concert – Edita Gruberová

Arias and overtures from works by Rossini, Bellini, Saint-Saëns, Strauß, Meyerbeer and Thomas
Mon 10.12.2018 - 19:00 h
C-Prices: € 98,– / € 80,– / € 56,– / € 32,– / € 22,–

Subscription: K, SWAC, SWAD, SWPR, Bonus

Informationen zum Werk

approx. 2 hrs 15 mins / one interval

The Concert Programme

“Her soprano,” wrote the heavyweight critic Hans Heinz Stuckenschmidt in the Süddeutsche Zeitung after witnessing Edita Gruberová in the premiere of Donizetti’s LUCIA DI LAMMERMOOR at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, “combines dramatic power and florid richness on the one hand with a baffling mobility on the other.” He was referring to a blend of virtuosity and expressivity that Edita Gruberová has managed to sustain in the four decades that have elapsed since the much-fêted Berlin premiere of LUCIA. Gruberová is still considered the undisputed queen of dramatic bel canto, a reputation that she has reinforced time and again in recent years, not least in her performances in ROBERTO DEVEREUX and LUCREZIA BORGIA at the Deutsche Oper Berlin.

Now, however, Edita Gruberová has resolved to bid farewell to the stage where she has reigned supreme. The concert on 10th December – almost 38 years to the day since her LUCIA premiere – is to be her final appearance at the Deutsche Oper Berlin. And for her farewell performance the diva has assembled a programme that represents the key aspects of her art, ranging from the girlish coquetry of Rosina in Rossini’s BARBIER to the transcendental coloratura art in Ophélie’s crazed aria in Ambroise Thomas’s HAMLET by way of the elegiac abjuration of the world as displayed by Vincenzo Bellini’s romantic heroines.

Gioacchino Rossini [1792 – 1868]
„Una voce poco fa“

Vincenzo Bellini [1801 – 1835]
„Ah! se un'urna è a me concessa“

Gioacchino Rossini [1792 – 1868]

Vincenzo Bellini [1801 – 1835]
„Sono all'ara“

*** Pause ***

Camille Saint-Saëns [1835 – 1921]

Johann Strauß [1825 – 1899]
Furioso-Polka, Op.260

Johann Strauß [1825 – 1899]

Giacomo Meyerbeer [1791 – 1864]
From the ballet scene „Les Patineurs“

Ambroise Thomas (1811 – 1896)
„Partagez-vous mes fleurs“

Our Sponsors

Kindly supported by Fleurop.