Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
Encounters – Transcultural concerts and projects

Common Sound – Minifestival

A transcultural music project with young people aged 15 and over
Sat 16.02.2019 - 19:00 h
€ 16,– / concs.: € 8,–*

*) All those eligible to pay reduced prices (concessions) can claim the discount rate as soon as tickets go on general sale. If purchasing online, please select the "ermäßigt" 'sale type' in the dropdown menu under the hall chart, after choosing your seat(s).

Informationen zum Werk

The Concert Programme

Oud meets violin, chorus meets santur, Persian rap meets electro beats… Young people from a wealth of backgrounds are taking over the Tischlerei during the winter holidays of 2019. And they’ll be bringing their music, instruments, songs and stories with them. The thing they all have in common is that they live in Berlin.

In the Common Sound workshop they’ll be composing brand new pieces of music together – guided by well-known artists with Arab, Persian, Turkish and western European roots. They’ll be working on new compositions in small groups, enjoying cultural differences and familiar and unfamiliar ways of doing things and delighting in the new music that results. In the evenings there’ll be jamming, chilling, eating and playing in an assortment of gatherings. At the end they’ll come up with their own COMMON SOUND mini festival and present it onstage in the Tischlerei of the Deutsche Oper Berlin – assisted by outfitter Shahrzad Rahmani and director Johannes Müller.

The youngsters and the workshop and project leaders will draw on their very different cultural backgrounds. The instruments and musical awareness may be Persian, western European or Arab in origin. “Common Sound” refers not to a common musical denominator but to musical diversity and sounds that are familiar to many and crop up in multiple contexts. Cultural compartmentalisation is a thing of the past in Berlin, but there are still certain customs, traditions and “commons” that are chiefly associated with their originating cultures, sub-cultures and social groups. Project participants and artists are encouraged to present their own variations of the musical form that they are familiar with, discover parallels, polarities and nodes of interaction and recount the underlying stories – in short to create new “Common Sounds”!

This is the latest in a series of transcultural projects hosted by Young Opera which began in 2016 with NEULAND and continued with SOMETHING I’VE ALWAYS WANTED TO SAY in 2017 and THE CRY OF THE PEACOCK IN THE NIGHT in 2018.

Dates:
Kick-off workshop: 12th, 13th January 2019; registations open until 10th January 2019
Workshop week: 4th-10th and 12th-15th February 2019
Mini festival: 16th, 17th February 2019, 7pm [Tischlerei]


Information for participants:
Register for the kick-off workshop on 12th, 13th January 2019 [registrations close on 10th January 2019]. The project is open to all. People with no musical knowledge or very limited knowledge are no less welcome than youngsters with experience. The working language will be predominantly German. Workshop leaders also speak Arabic, Farsi, English, Turkish, French or other languages. Participation, food and public transport to and from the venue are free of charge.

Our Sponsors

COMMON SOUND is a project hosted by Young Opera in collaboration with Interkulturanstalten Westend e. V. and the Global Music School.
COMMON SOUND is co-funded by “Zur Bühne”, the funding programme of the Deutscher Bühnenverein as part of the “Kultur macht stark. Bündnisse für Bildung” initiative.
Young Opera is backed by the Karl Schlecht Foundation.

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
Begegnungen – Transkulturelle Konzerte und Projekte

Common Sound – Minifestival

Transkulturelles Musikprojekt mit Jugendlichen ab 15 Jahren
Sa 16.02.2019 - 19:00 Uhr
€ 5,00

Informationen zum Werk

Zum Inhalt

Oud trifft Geige, Chorgesang trifft Santur, persischer Rap trifft Elektrobeats: Junge Menschen mit ganz verschiedenen Hintergründen stürmen in den Winterferien 2019 die Tischlerei. Sie bringen ihre Musik mit, ihre Instrumente, ihre Lieder und ihre Geschichten. Was sie verbindet: Sie wohnen alle in Berlin.

In der Common Sound-Workshopwoche entwickeln sie gemeinsam neue Musik – angeleitet von renommierten KünstlerInnen mit arabischen, persischen, türkischen und westeuropäischen Wurzeln. Sie musizieren gemeinsam, erfinden in Kleingruppen neue Musik, zelebrieren Unterschiede, Gewohntes und Unbekanntes und feiern das gemeinsame Neue. Am Abend jammen und chillen, spielen und speisen sie in Workshops, Begegnungen, Jamsessions und Partys. Am Ende gestalten sie ihr eigenes COMMON SOUND-Minifestival in der Tischlerei der Deutschen Oper Berlin und stehen gemeinsam auf der Bühne – unterstützt von Ausstatterin Shahrzad Rahmani und Regisseur Elia Rediger.

Die jugendlichen TeilnehmerInnen, Workshop- und ProjektleiterInnen bringen unterschiedlichste kulturelle Backgrounds mit. Ihre Instrumente und ihr Verständnis von Musik sind persischen oder westeuropäischen Ursprungs, kommen aus dem Arabischen oder sind von verschiedenen Einflüssen geprägt. „Common Sound“ meint daher nicht den einen verbindenden Klang, sondern die musikalische Vielfalt, und: Klänge, die vielen Leuten bekannt und in verschiedenen Kontexten allgemein üblich sind. In Berlin gibt es längst nicht mehr klar voneinander abgetrennte Kulturen, aber es gibt Gewohnheiten, Traditionen, „commons“, die mit Herkunftskulturen, Subkulturen oder sozialen Gruppen zusammenhängen. Und so sind die TeilnehmerInnen und KünstlerInnen des Projektes aufgerufen, einander diese Variationen des jeweils Bekannten vorzustellen, Schnittstellen,
Polaritäten und Parallelen zu entdecken und die Geschichten dahinter zu erzählen – und neue „Common Sounds“ zu schaffen!

Das Projekt setzt die Reihe der transkulturellen partizipativen Projekte der Jungen Deutschen Oper fort, die mit NEULAND 2016 begann und mit WAS ICH SCHON IMMER SAGEN WOLLTE 2017 und DER SCHREI DES PFAUEN IN DER NACHT 2018 fortgesetzt wurde.


Termine
Kickoff-Workshop: 12., 13. Januar 2019, Anmeldung bis 10. Januar 2019
Workshop-Woche: 4. – 10., 12. – 15. Februar 2019
Mini-Festival: 16., 17. Februar 2019, 19 Uhr [Tischlerei]


Informationen für TeilnehmerInnen
Meldet Euch zum Kickoff-Workshop am 12. und 13. Januar 2019 an [Anmeldeschluss: 10. Januar 2019]. Mitmachen können alle: Keine oder geringe musikalische Vorkenntnisse sind genauso willkommen wie musikerfahrene Jugendliche. Die Arbeitssprache ist überwiegend Deutsch. Die Workshop-LeiterInnen sprechen auch Arabisch, Englisch, Farsi, Türkisch, Französisch u. a. Die Teilnahme ist kostenfrei. Für kostenlose Verpflegung und BVG-Tickets ist gesorgt.

Unterstützer

COMMON SOUND ist ein Projekt der Jungen Deutschen Oper in Kooperation mit den Interkulturanstalten Westend e. V. und der Global Music School.
COMMON SOUND wird gefördert durch „Zur Bühne“, das Förderprogramm des Deutschen Bühnenvereins im Rahmen von „Kultur macht stark. Bündnisse für Bildung“.
Die Junge Deutsche Oper wird gefördert von der Karl Schlecht Stiftung.