Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

The string puller

Nothing happens at the Deutsche Oper Berlin without his say-so. Uwe Arsand is master of stage machinery and rigging. With the RING he’s exceeding his own high standards

Das Rheingold
Conductor: Donald Runnicles
Director: Stefan Herheim
With Derek Welton, Joel Allison, Robert Watson, Thomas Blondelle, Markus Brück, Ya-Chung Huang, Andrew Harris, Tobias Kehrer, Annika Schlicht, Judit Kutasi et al. 
Premiere on 12 June 2021

»With our last RING production the papers reported that 30 juggernauts were needed to transport the sets. Back then it was huge – and it’s not going to be any less huge this time. On the stage you’ve essentially got two pieces of equipment: a cloth and a suitcase. That may sound a bit mundane, but it’s true. The suitcase refers to the basic luggage used by a traveller, except that in this instance there are around 2,000 of them, some of them fitted together to form huge structures. The cloth is nothing more than a handkerchief, except this one is 48 metres by 35 metres in area.

For us technicians, too, THE RING OF THE NIBELUNG is different from other operas. There’s no room at the Deutsche Oper Berlin for the stage set to be stored between performances, so we have to truck it back to our depot in Beelitz-Buchholz.

I see the RING as my culminating assignment after 15 years working for the opera house. I’ve been involved in the production of about 80 operas, but nothing like this. It reminds me of the lines from Goethe’s FAUST: ›From heaven to hell via life‹. Theatre is meant to show everything. And that’s what we’re doing here.«

 

Uwe Arsand has worked at some of Berlin’s great theatres including the Schaubühne and the Berliner Ensemble. As Technical Director at the Deutsche Oper Berlin he has been involved in over 80 productions

 

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Der Strippenzieher

An der Deutschen Oper Berlin läuft nichts ohne ihn. Uwe Arsand ist Herr über die Technik. Beim RING übertrifft er sich selbst

Das Rheingold
Der Vorabend des Bühnenfestspiels für drei Tage und einen Vorabend
Musikalische Leitung: Donald Runnicles
Inszenierung: Stefan Herheim
Mit Derek Welton / Noel Bouley, Thomas Lehman, Patrick Cook / Matthew Newlin, Thomas Blondelle, Markus Brück, Ya-Chung Huang, Andrew Harris, Tobias Kehrer, Annika Schlicht, Judit Kutasi u. a.
Premiere am 12. Juni 2021

»Bei unserer letzten RING-Produktion schrieben die Zeitungen von 30 Sattelschleppern, die für das Bühnenbild gebraucht werden. Das galt damals als spektakulär – aber so wird es auch diesmal wieder. Es gibt zwei wesentliche Elemente auf der Bühne, ein Tuch und Koffer. Falls das alltäglich klingt – das täuscht. Die Koffer sind normale Reisekoffer, aber es sind rund 2.000 Stück, teils zusammengefügt zu großen Strukturen, quasi zu Bergen. Das Tuch ist ein Taschentuch, genau wie man es so in der Anzugtasche hat, aber etwa 48 mal 35 Meter groß.

Der RING DES NIBELUNGEN ist anders als andere Opern, auch für uns Techniker. Zwischen den Vorstellungen kann dieses aufwändige Bühnenbild nicht in der Deutschen Oper Berlin bleiben, wir müssen es in unser Lager in Beelitz-Buchholz transportieren.

Ich sehe den RING als meine Abschlussarbeit nach 15 Jahren an diesem Haus. Ich habe rund 80 Opern mit produziert, aber dies übertrifft sie alle. Ich denke an die Zeilen aus Goethes FAUST: ›Vom Himmel durch die Welt zur Hölle‹ soll das Theater alles zeigen – genau das wird hier passieren.«

 

Uwe Arsand arbeitete an den großen Häusern Berlins, etwa der Schaubühne und dem Berliner Ensemble. Seit 2007 hat er an der Deutschen Oper Berlin als Technischer Direktor über 80 Inszenierungen begleitet

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld