Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area
07. Dec

DE|EN

Dramatic advisor Carolin Müller-Dohle explains the link between global warming and a 100-year-old opera house

We are the apocalypse

ANTIKRIST was the first brand-new production that we were forced to cancel because of a Covid lockdown. 18 months on, the end-of-days opera is more topical than ever. Not good news at all

Antikrist
Conductor: Stephan Zilias
Director: Ersan Mondtag
With: Thomas Lehman, Jonas Grundner-Culemann, Valeriia Savinskaia, Irene Roberts, Clemens Bieber, Gina Perregrino, Flurina Stucki, AJ Glueckert, Jordan Shanahan et al.
Premiere: 30 January 2022

Suddenly, the end was not nigh; the end had actually arrived. »A world in spasm: Bloody lies: Death knells: Perdition game« are the words used in Scene 3 of Rued Langgaard’s opera ANTIKRIST, which is set in a kind of terrestrial end times. Director Ersan Mondtag and conductor Stephan Zilias spent a little over four weeks rehearsing the extraordinary work with singers and orchestra before the pandemic brought everything crashing down. On 12th March, just before the big rehearsal with piano was due to take place, we had to down tools. Artists and Deutsche Oper Berlin staff went off in all directions or began working from home. Ironically, the first production to be knobbled and pushed back by the pandemic was an opera about the demise of the planet.

Langgaard referred to the work as a »church opera«. The symbolistic, allusive lyrics are based closely on the last book of the New Testament, the Gospel according to John. In it, the world is beset by pest, famine and calamity, leading to all people being subjected to the Last Judgement of Christ.

Few critics at the time of the opera’s appearance knew what to make of Langgaard’s theme, to say nothing of his exuberant, eccentric music. ANTIKRIST was rejected twice by the Royal Opera in Copenhagen, once on its completion in the early 1920s and a second time in 1930 following a root-and-branch reworking. This must have been a jolt for Langgaard, whose career had started promisingly: his first symphony had been performed by the Berlin Symphoniker in 1913. Then came World War One and suddenly Langgaard, whose music was becoming increasingly avant-garde, no longer fitted in. But in 1968 his scores came to the attention of György Ligeti, whereupon the famed composer lobbied to have the Scandinavian’s works staged – heralding a veritable Langgaard revival. When ANTIKRIST eventually received its world premiere in Innsbruck in 1999, Langgaard had been dead for fifty years, having spent his latter years in western Denmark playing music in churches.

Celebrated as a wunderkind, dismissed by the critics of his day, and rediscovered by György Ligeti: Danish composer Rued Langgaard [1893 – 1952] © The Royal Library Copenhagen
 

Langgaard’s opera is suffused with fin de siècle atmosphere and pessimism, warning of catastrophe and denouncing the vices of the modern age: egotism, arrogance, frivolity. Langgaard, though, is also an optimist, convinced of the transformative, transcendental power of art and the importance of music as a thread connecting people to the godhead. So it is that the world is freed of all evil and sorrow in the culminating chorus scene in ANTIKRIST.

And what of the present day? Here we are, floundering in real-world end times. Raging wildfires on the Mediterranean coast, flash floods in the west of Germany… The end of the world as we know it is not a thing of fiction; it is a very real scenario. If carbon emissions are not slashed over the next ten years, average temperatures are set to rise before 2100 by up to four degrees compared to temperatures in the pre-industrial age. The worldwide consequences of this trend have been plain for years – and they are getting very close to home.

Those of us who can visualise the apocalypse are at an advantage, according to historian Johannes Fried in his book entitled »Dies irae: Eine Geschichte des Weltuntergangs« In Fried’s estimation, the apocalypse is the mother of invention and has given rise to all the science of the modern day. No religious belief system imagines the end of the world in more detail than Christianity. Regardless of one’s creed, visions of the apocalypse continue to inform our thoughts, our plans, our deeds. To that extent, then, the end of times also contains the seeds of a rebirth. Are we on the cusp of a Damascene realisation that will usher in an ecological new beginning? Langgaard, too, wove a measure of hope into his ANTIKRIST, serving notice that we should act now, if we want to bequeath a world worth living in to the next generations. This thought makes this opera more topical and relevant than it has ever been – so our delayed production has not come a moment too early!

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich
05. Dez

DE|EN

Dramaturgin Carolin Müller-Dohle erklärt, was eine hundert Jahre alte Oper mit der Klimakrise zu tun hat

Die Apokalypse sind wir

ANTIKRIST war die erste Neuproduktion, die wir im Corona-Lockdown stoppen mussten. Anderthalb Jahre später ist die Weltuntergangs-Oper aktueller denn je. Und das ist keine gute Nachricht

Antikrist
Dirigent: Stephan Zilias
Regie: Ersan Mondtag
Mit u. a. Thomas Lehman, Jonas Grundner-Culemann, Valeriia Savinskaia, Irene Roberts, Clemens Bieber, Gina Perregrino, Flurina Stucki, AJ Glueckert, Jordan Shanahan
Premiere am 30. Januar 2022

Plötzlich war das Ende nicht nah, es war da. »Welt in Krämpfen: Blutige Lügen: Totenreich-Glocken: Untergangs-Spiel« heißt es im dritten Bild von Rued Langgaards Oper ANTIKRIST, die in einer Art irdischer Endzeit spielt. Etwas mehr als vier Wochen probten Regisseur Ersan Mondtag und Dirigent Stephan Zilias mit den Sänger*innen und dem Orchester dieses außergewöhnliche Werk, dann brach die Pandemie ins Theater selbst ein. Am 12. März 2020, kurz vor der Klavierhauptprobe, musste die Arbeit eingestellt werden, der erste Lockdown wurde verhängt, Künstler*innen und Mitarbeitende der Deutschen Oper Berlin reisten ab oder gingen ins Homeoffice. Ausgerechnet die vom Weltuntergang kündende Oper war die erste Neuproduktion, die von der Pandemie gestoppt und ihretwegen verschoben werden musste.

Langgaard bezeichnete sein Werk als »Kirchenoper«, der symbolistische, assoziationsreiche Text basiert auf dem letzten Buch des neuen Testaments, der Offenbarung des Johannes: Katastrophen, Seuchen und Hungersnöte leiten den Untergang der Welt ein und münden im letzten Gericht Gottes über alle Menschen.

Zeitgenossen konnten mit Langgaards Sujet, wohl auch mit der überbordenden, exzentrischen Musik wenig anfangen. Zwei Mal wurde ANTIKRIST von der von der Königlichen Oper in Kopenhagen abgelehnt. Einmal nach Vollendung, Anfang der 1920er Jahre. Ein zweites Mal 1930, nachdem er die Oper komplett überarbeitet hatte. Dabei hatte Langgaards Karriere hoffnungsvoll begonnen, seine erste Sinfonie wurde 1913 von den Berliner Symphonikern aufgeführt. Dann kam der Erste Weltkrieg und Langgaard, dessen Musik immer avantgardistischer wurde, fand keinen Platz in seiner Zeit. 1968 geraten seine Partituren zufällig in die Hände von György Ligeti – und der große Komponist setzt sich ein für die Aufführung der Werke des Skandinaviers, ein regelrechtes Langgaard-Revival nimmt seinen Anfang. Als die Oper 1999 in Innsbruck uraufgeführt wird, ist Langgaard schon ein halbes Jahrhundert verstorben, zuletzt hatte er als Kirchenmusiker gearbeitet im Westen Dänemarks.

Als Wunderkind gestartet, von Zeitgenossen verachtet, durch György Ligeti neu entdeckt: Der dänische Komponist Rued Langgaard [1893 – 1952] © The Royal Library Copenhagen
 

Langgaards Oper atmet den Geist des Fin de Siècle, voller Pessimismus warnt sie vor dem Untergang, prangert die Laster der Moderne an: Eigennutz, Hochmut, Frivolität. Aber Langaard ist auch Optimist, er glaubt an die transformativen, transzendierenden Kräfte der Kunst. Seiner tiefen Überzeugung nach war die Musik fähig, Kontakt zum Göttlichen herzustellen– und so manifestiert sich im großen Schlusschor von ANTIKRIST die ersehnte Erlösung der Welt von allem Leid und allem Bösen.

Und heute? Stecken wir mittendrin, in der Endzeit. Feuersbrünste am Mittelmeer, die Flutkatastrophe in Rheinland-Pfalz und NRW, der Weltuntergang ist keine Fiktion, er ist ein reales Szenario. Werden die CO2-Emissionen innerhalb der nächsten zehn Jahre nicht drastisch reduziert, droht die Durchschnittstemperatur bis zum Jahr 2100 um bis zu vier Grad über den vorindustriellen Durchschnitt zu steigen. Die Folgen zeichnen sich weltweit seit Jahren ab, nun auch vor unserer eigenen Haustür.

Wer sich die Apokalypse vorstellen kann, sei im Vorteil, sagt Historiker Johannes Fried in seinem Buch »Dies irae: Eine Geschichte des Weltuntergangs«. Die Apokalypse mache produktiv, so Fried, aus ihrem Geist seien schon die modernen Wissenschaften entstanden. In keinem wie dem christlichen Kulturkreis gibt es eine so definitive Vorstellung vom Weltende. Auch ohne Gott- und Teufelsglaube: Die Vorstellung der Apokalypse prägt weiterhin unser Denken, Planen und Handeln. Insofern steckt in der Endzeit auch der Anfang: Nähern wir uns nun der Einsicht, die zum ökologischen Neubeginn führt? Auch Langgaard hat Hoffnung eingeflochten in seinen ANTIKRIST; eine Mahnung, jetzt zu handeln, wenn wir den nachfolgenden Generationen eine lebenswerte Welt hinterlassen wollen. Dieser Gedanke macht diese Oper aktueller und relevanter denn je. Höchste Zeit, dass sie nun endlich zur Aufführung kommt!

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld