Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

On the occasion of her 80th birthday on 1 September 2021

Happy Birthday Julia Varady

In the interview given by Julia Varady and her husband Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau on the hundredth anniversary of the founding of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Varady described how, whenever she is driving past the opera house, she gets palpitations and feels an urge to go in. That was in 2012, 15 years after her surprise retirement, and the physical response she talked of reveals better than anything else her deep affinity with the Deutsche Oper Berlin – in the same way that an individual’s deep affection for a person or place never really dies.

From 1976, when she debuted in the Bismarckstrasse in Mascagni’s CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA, right up to her final appearance in 1998 in a symphony concert, the Romanian-born Hungarian singer reigned as the undisputed prima donna of the Deutsche Oper Berlin, performing 18 roles in a total of 161 appearances. At a time when many ambitious singers followed a strategy of guesting at all the great venues, Varady chose to focus on two opera houses, in Munich and Berlin, where she soon built up a cult following.

Only superlatives can describe what Julia Varady achieved for the opera genre. Not only was she a diva whose vocal quality consistently delighted the connoisseurs; she was also an actress through and through, aiming for perfection not as an end in itself but with a view to the credible portrayal of her stage character. That is doubtless one reason why she faced up to the demands of theatre directors, her commitment as a player smoothing and warming audiences’ responses to many an edgy production.

In Berlin her prima donna charisma was also deployed in collaborations with controversial directors such as Hans Neuenfels, in whose legendary 1982 production of LA FORZA DEL DESTINO she sang the part of Leonora. Even more so than the works of Mozart and Wagner, it was Verdi’s operas that primarily attracted Varady at the Deutsche Oper Berlin, with the star singing heroines like Elisabetta in DON CARLO, Aida alongside her husband in 1982 and Amelia in UN BALLO IN MASCHERA, her last new stage role in 1994. There was a reason for this: where Mozart demands precision and refinement and Wagner a faculty for larger-than-life emotion, Verdi composes for singers who can do both. Varady’s Amelia, Aida and Violetta are all women who display personality traits ranging from fragility and timidity to huge self-sacrifice.

 

To this day many followers of opera regret Julia Varady’s abrupt retirement, which came on the heels of a falling out with Götz Friedrich, who had earmarked her to sing Senta in his new production of DER FLIEGENDE HOLLÄNDER. By way of compensation we can still savour the many, albeit scattered, recordings that testify to her stature as a brilliant singer.

Today we congratulate Julia Varady on her 80th birthday. And the next time she’s passing the Deutsche Oper we sincerely hope she’ll listen to her heart and pay us a visit.

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Zum 80. Geburtstag am 1. September 2021

Herzlichen Glückwunsch, Julia Varady

Sie bekomme noch jedes Mal Herzklopfen, wenn sie an der Deutschen Oper vorbeifahre, und spüre den Impuls, einfach hineinzugehen, bekannte Julia Varady in dem Interview, das sie gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau aus Anlass des hundertsten Geburtstags des Hauses gab. Das war 2012, 15 Jahre nach ihrem überraschenden Bühnenabschied, und kaum etwas verrät die tiefe Verbundenheit Julia Varadys mit der Deutschen Oper Berlin besser als diese intuitive Reaktion – so wie die echten Herzensbeziehungen, sei es zu Menschen oder zu Orten, eben nie wirklich beendet sind.

Von 1976 an, als sie in Mascagnis CAVALLERIA RUSTICANA an der Bismarckstraße debütierte, bis zu ihrem letzten Auftritt 1998 im Rahmen eines Sinfoniekonzerts war die 1941 in Rumänien geborene ungarische Sängerin die unbestrittene Primadonna der Deutschen Oper Berlin und stand für das Haus in insgesamt 161 Abenden und 18 verschiedenen Partien auf der Bühne. In einer Zeit, in der viele aufstrebende Sänger und Sängerinnen schon auf die schnelle Karriere durch Gastauftritte an allen großen Bühnen setzten, beschritt Varady konsequent einen anderen Weg und konzentrierte sich auf zwei Häuser, an denen das Publikum sie bald geradezu kultisch verehrte: München und Berlin.

Was Julia Varady für die Oper leistete, ist kaum hoch genug zu schätzen: Denn sie war eben nicht nur eine Diva, die mit ihrer perfekten Stimmkultur die Ansprüche der Aficionados erfüllte, sondern auch eine überzeugte Darstellerin, für die stimmliche Perfektion nie Selbstzweck war, sondern immer Mittel zur glaubwürdigen Gestaltung von Charakteren. Wohl auch deshalb stellte sie sich mit Offenheit den Anforderungen des Regietheaters und verhalf mancher verstörenden Inszenierung durch ihren rückhaltlosen Einsatz zur Akzeptanz beim Publikum.

Dieses Primadonnen-Charisma setzte sie in Berlin auch in der Zusammenarbeit mit umstrittenen Regisseuren wie Hans Neuenfels ein, in dessen legendärer Neuinszenierung von LA FORZA DEL DESTINO sie 1982 die Leonora verkörperte. Die großen Opernheldinnen Verdis von der Elisabetta in DON CARLO über die Aida 1982 (an der Seite ihres Mannes) bis zur Amelia im BALLO IN MASCHERA, ihrer letzten neuen Bühnenrolle 1994, stehen im Zentrum von Varadys Wirken an der Deutschen Oper Berlin, noch vor Mozart und Wagner. Das nicht ohne Grund, denn wo Mozart absolute Kontrolle und Feinschliff der Gesangslinie fordert und bei Wagner die überlebensgroße Emotion im Zentrum steht, fordert Verdi beides: Varadys Amelia, Aida, Violetta sind Frauenporträts, die alle Facetten von Fragilität und Scheu bis hin zu überlebensgroßer Opferbereitschaft aufweisen.

 

Dass die Bühnenlaufbahn Julia Varadys nach Differenzen mit Götz Friedrich, in dessen neuem FLIEGENDEN HOLLÄNDER sie als Senta vorgesehen war, relativ abrupt ein Ende fand, bedauern viele noch heute: Als Entschädigung bleiben zum Glück die vielen, wenngleich verstreuten Aufnahmen, die von ihrer sängerischen Kunst zeugen.

Heute wird die große Sängerdarstellerin Julia Varady 80 Jahre alt. Und wenn sie wieder an der Deutschen Oper vorbeifährt, hört sie hoffentlich auf ihr Herz und kommt herein. 

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld