Welcome

This is your personal “My Opera” area. This is where you can update your private details, profile settings and password and/or log out.

Your applications in the administrative / editorial area

DE|EN

What moves me

How much longer?

Nothing happens for weeks and then all of sudden it’s ‘Action stations!’ As Artistic Director Dietmar Schwarz is finding out, in the pandemic slow-slow meets fast-fast. But another issue is creating anguish in the background

I’ve been involved in opera my entire life. Not always as Artistic Director, of course, and not always at such a huge venue - but as dramaturg and at smaller institutions, too, one thing has been a constant: the imperative of taking the long view. We often plan five years ahead. Our first talks relating to the RING took place at the start of my incumbency nine years ago. That all changed a year ago. We’re now restricted to short-term planning. For such a huge organization that’s a major challenge. Singers from around the world are being booked open-end. Same goes for star directors and conductors. It’s as if they expect a cargo ship to suddenly turn on a sixpence. I’ve often thought it’s a pity that opera has to plan for the long run, because it means you can’t respond to situations in the here and now, as you can in theatre, for instance. And now it’s taken this crisis to give us the freedom to embrace this very different tempo. We can now work on productions that we’d never have been able to put on if it had meant a long, drawn-out build-up, because we’ve only just found the people to do it. It’s like finding an antidote to the pandemic.

My most emotional moment in this saga came when I heard the first strains of THE RHINEGOLD on the parking deck in that break we had between lockdowns. We were all in tears. Maybe that’s why I’m so happy that we’re soon going to be able to start performing on the parking deck again. One of our new discoveries is a team of young women from the theatre centering on director Pinar Karabulut. She’s staging (at very short notice) GREEK, the chamber opera written in the 1980s by English composer Mark-Anthony Turnage. I love this young team of players, who are bringing their outsider perspective to things. And with that material we’re also opening up to chamber-musical theatre. Small casts, modest orchestras… that kind of set-up is bound to be a feature of many venues in the future. But as a counterpoint to this kind of short-term production we’re also rehearsing the RING, which is a mammoth work. We’re still hoping to stage SIEGFRIED before a live audience in May. If that doesn’t work, then we’ll settle for November as part of the cycle. I’m already proud that we’re one of the few opera houses in the world that are putting on such great works of opera in the middle of the pandemic.

Yet crouching at our elbow is a larger painful awareness: the awful realization that it wasn’t just business as usual after the first lockdown, that it was dragging on and on. It takes quite a while for this to register fully. We haven’t been operating normally since 13th March 2020. We lost most of the entire 20/21 season and most of the second half of the 19/20 season. Some people saw it coming in March 2020 and said as much, but I didn’t take them seriously. Maybe I was in denial. I thought we’d batten down the hatches, stop rehearsing, keep to the social-distancing rules, etc, until the virus went away. But it didn’t go away.

For a whole year now we’ve been reconnoitering the boundaries of what is allowed. How, where, when and what we can rehearse? What works are we allowed to perform? How can we stay in touch with our audiences using the digital medium? And when are we finally going to be let back on stage? We’ve been seizing every opportunity that presents itself. As a way of keeping spirits up over such an extended period of time, I’ve been trying to keep our colleagues occupied rehearsing projects, as is currently happening with SIEGFRIED. It’s hugely important to be working on things together at the opera and not sitting at home alone. I keep having to drum into my team that the time they invest now privately will pay dividends on stage at some point in the future.

The first strains of opera after the first lockdown were heard in THE RHINEGOLD on the parking deck of the opera house. »We were all in tears,« says Dietmar Schwarz © Bernd Uhlig
 

After all the streaming, videos and digital experiments, I’ve never been as convinced as I am now about one thing: the emotionality that we trigger through music and song needs to resonate with a public. When a singer stands up in front of an audience of 2,000 people, adrenalin is coursing through her body. You can’t manufacture that kind of stage nerves. The hormonal high of the stage is lacking and without an audience the artist cannot summon up this type of energised state. Dear audience member, we miss you badly.

 

On the titel: An opera house is like a cargo ship on the high seas: the route has been plotted long ago – and changing course at short notice is extremely difficult © Adobe Stock

Newsletter

Newsletter

News about the schedule
and the start of advance booking
Personal recommendations
Special offers ...
Stay well informed!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Subscribe to our Newsletter and receive 25% off your next ticket purchase.

* Mandatory field

Willkommen

Dies ist Ihr persönlicher Bereich des Projekts „Meine Oper“. Hier aktualisieren Sie Ihre persönlichen Daten, Ihre Profileinstellungen, Ihr Passwort und/oder melden Sie sich ab.

Ihre Anwendungen im Administrations-/Redaktionsbereich

DE|EN

Was mich bewegt

Wann ist es endlich vorbei?

Wochen bewegt sich nichts, dann muss alles schnell gehen. In der Pandemie prallen unterschiedlichste Geschwindigkeiten aufeinander, erfährt auch Intendant Dietmar Schwarz. Aber im Hintergrund schmerzt ein anderes Thema

Ich habe mein Leben lang an der Oper gearbeitet. Natürlich nicht immer als Intendant und nicht immer an einem so riesigen Haus – aber auch als Dramaturg und in kleineren Häusern hat mich eines stets begleitet: Die Langfristigkeit als Alltagsdiktat der Oper. Wir planen oft fünf Jahre im Voraus, die ersten Gespräche für den RING fanden zu Beginn meiner Intendanz vor neun Jahren statt. Seit einem Jahr ist das anders: Wir sind wir gezwungen, kurzfristig zu planen. Das ist für so einen Riesenapparat natürlich eine Challenge, Sängerinnen und Sänger aus der ganzen Welt sind ewig gebucht, Regie-Stars, Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten. Es ist, als müsste ein Frachter plötzlich manövrieren wie eine schlanke Jolle. Ich habe die Langfristigkeit der Oper oft bedauert, weil man dadurch nicht – wie etwa im Schauspiel – aktuell reagieren kann. Und ausgerechnet jetzt, in dieser Krise, haben wir plötzlich die Möglichkeit, uns auf diese ganz andere Geschwindigkeit einzulassen. Wir können an Produktionen arbeiten, die wir mit einem langen Vorlauf gar nicht hätten zeigen können, weil wir die Beteiligten erst vor kurzer Zeit für uns entdeckt haben. Das wirkt wie ein Gegengift zur Pandemie.

Den emotionalsten Moment dieser Zeit hatte ich, als ich nach dem ersten Lockdown die ersten Töne im RHEINGOLD auf dem Parkdeck gehört habe. Wir alle haben geweint. Vielleicht erfüllt es mich deshalb so mit Freude, dass wir bald wieder auf dem Parkdeck spielen können. Eine unserer Entdeckungen ist ein junges Frauenteam aus dem Schauspiel um die Regisseurin Pınar Karabulut. Sie inszeniert sehr kurzfristig die Kammeroper GREEK aus den Achtzigerjahren, geschrieben von dem englischen Komponisten Mark-Anthony Turnage. Mich begeistert dieses junge Team, das mit einem Blick von außen kommt. Und zudem öffnen wir uns mit dem Stoff in Richtung Kammermusiktheater. Klein besetzt, ohne großes Orchester, das wird in Zukunft an manchen Häusern sicher relevanter. Im Gegensatz zu solchen kurzfristigen Produktionen proben wir den RING, ein Mammutwerk. Noch hoffen wir, SIEGFRIED im Mai vor Publikum zeigen zu können. Wenn das nicht klappt, dann eben im November im Zyklus. Ich bin schon stolz, dass wir eines der wenigen Häuser in der Welt sind, die mitten in der Pandemie so große Oper machen.

Doch hinter diesen Erfolgen sitzt ein größerer Schmerz: Die quälende Erkenntnis, dass nach dem ersten Lockdown nicht alles vorbei war. Dass es immer weiter und weiter ging. Diese Einsicht sickert nur sehr langsam in mein Bewusstsein. Seit dem 13. März 2020 spielen wir nicht mehr regulär. Die gesamte Spielzeit 20/21 und die Hälfte der Saison 19/20 waren nur sehr eingeschränkt realisierbar. Es gab Menschen, die mir das damals, im März 2020, prophezeit haben – aber die habe ich nicht ernst genommen. Vielleicht wollte ich es einfach nicht wahrhaben. Ich dachte, wir verbarrikadieren uns, proben nicht, halten uns brav an die Kontaktbeschränkungen – bis das Virus weg ist. Aber es ging nicht weg.

Seit einem Jahr loten wir jetzt die Grenzen aus. Wie, wo, wann und was können wir proben? Welche Stücke können wir bearbeiten? Wie können wir digital in Verbindung bleiben? Und wann dürfen wir endlich wieder auf die Bühne? Wir nutzen jede Lücke. Um die Stimmung an Bord über einen so langen Zeitraum zu halten, versuche ich, für alle Kolleginnen und Kollegen Projekte bereitzuhalten, an denen wir proben, so wie gerade an Wagners SIEGFRIED. Es ist wirklich wichtig, dass wir gemeinsam in der Oper etwas tun, dass wir nicht allein zuhause sitzen. Ich muss meine Mannschaft immer wieder überzeugen: Was ihr jetzt im Verborgenen investiert, zahlt sich irgendwann auf der Bühne aus.

In DAS RHEINGOLD auf dem Parkdeck waren nach dem ersten Lockdown die ersten Operntöne zu hören. »Da haben wir alle geweint«, sagt Dietmar Schwarz © Bernd Uhlig
Foto:
 

Eins ist mir noch nie so klar gewesen wie nach all dem Streaming, den Videos, den digitalen Experimenten: Die Emotionalität, die wir mit Musik und Gesang auslösen, braucht Resonanz. Wenn eine Sängerin vor 2000 Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauern steht, schießt ihr ein Hormoncocktail durch den Körper. Dieses Lampenfieber lässt sich nicht künstlich herstellen. Das Adrenalin der Bühne fehlt, diese Energie lässt sich ohne Publikum nicht herstellen. Sie, liebe Zuschauer, fehlen uns so sehr.

Auf dem Titelbild: Ein Opernhaus ist wie ein Frachtschiff auf hoher See: Die Route ist längst abgesteckt - und kurzfristige Kursänderungen sind äußerst schwierig © Adobe Stock

Newsletter

Newsletter

Aktuelles zum Spielplan
und zum Vorverkaufsbeginn
Persönliche Empfehlungen
Besondere Aktionen ...
Seien Sie immer gut informiert!

Newsletter abonnieren

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter und erhalten Sie 25% Ermäßigung bei Ihrem nächsten Kartenkauf

* Pflichtfeld